Shure E2c Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

21

I have a pair of these, and I haven't found anything as good for the money. I have tried the Sonys, and many many earbud/canalphones; the e2s are my choice by far.

The sound is accurate and non-fatiguing, and the bass is great -- it goes way down, and has definition that is lacking in any other sub-$250 earphone I have listened to. The sound is not hyped; the high freqs are smooth -- much more so than any other ear/canalphone I've tried. I can listen for a workday without being bothered.

These earphones are great for working at the office, you dont realize how tiring all of the ambient noise can be until it is eliminated. All of the buzzing lights, computers, copy machines, air conditioning and annoying conversation are attenuated significantly, and I am left in a world of music.

As a musician and music lover, I can really appreciate the honest sound of the e2s, and the noise attenuation and resulting isolation they provide.

I use the foam sleeves, they are very comfortable, -much- more so than the earbuds I was using, which pushed my ears out of shape and actually made them sore. Learning to seat them correctly takes a couple of minutes, once they are seated, you hardly know they are there.

The case is a little too small, but it works.


There you go.

Posted by j on September 18, 2003 at 1:55 PM (PDT)

22

my faith in the shure company has come through. i posted earlier about how one of my buds stopped working. i just got back a pair of new headphones no charge b/c my earphones were still under warrenty. and if u are questioning why they stopped working, i've decided the way i was putting my earphones in the case was bending them and the wire inside must have bent the wrong way. my friend showed me the way he puts his in and i believe i won't have this problem again.

i can't believe how much i missed them though. my iPod rocks once again

Posted by Loudest Noise in Houston, TX on September 25, 2003 at 4:02 PM (PDT)

23

JimmyJ, ER-6 vs E2c is pretty much up to personal preference. The ER-6s may be a little flatter the the E2cs without being juiced, but the E2cs suffer very slightly from the "Bose effect" in my opinion. You know...boomy bass...overly crisp uppers. The major benefit of the E2c is construction. They're much more durable from the earpieces down to the thick insulated cord. The ER-6 cables are quite chintzy and tend to amplify every little rub against your color or shirt.

Personally, I prefer the ER-6s. You just have to be more delicate with them.

Posted by Eugene on September 26, 2003 at 8:12 AM (PDT)

24

What is the best way to store these in the case? I can't figure a way to do it w/o too much straining and shoving

Posted by William on September 27, 2003 at 12:49 AM (PDT)

25

put them in so the end is inside the middle but loose so the end doesn't bend, b/c that makes them break like my first pair, i don't think this is the best case, and i don't even use mine that much anymore

Posted by Loudest Noise in Houston, TX on September 27, 2003 at 12:08 PM (PDT)

26

I picked up a pair of the E2's and I have a question. Normally, when I first get a pair of headphones/earphones I break them in for at least 24 hours before I use them. However, when I was reading a forum that was hosted by an engineer for Shure, he stated that the E2's didn't need any break-in time at all.

That said, I tried the E2's right out of the package and after finally getting a snug fit (tricky little suckers, aren't they?) my impression is that the sound is quite thin. I'm certainly not comparing the fullness of the sound to the Sony's I was using (as those are fairly boomy), but the headphones I use with my home amplifier are AKG 240 reference headphones which are extremely neutral. The E2's just lack any kind of warmth/bass-presence at all; and I'm not a bass-heavy listener (I'm listening to jazz, straight ahead rock, and classical; not dance or hip-hop).

Did anyone notice that these earphones do actually benefit from a break-in period? Will the sound become warmer as they're used, liked most other headphones?

Posted by JimmyJ on September 29, 2003 at 5:01 PM (PDT)

27

i did notice that they sound better after a bit of breaking in despite what shure says.

Posted by david on September 29, 2003 at 5:42 PM (PDT)

28

Come to think of it....when I first got mine I thought the sound was pretty thin too... But after a while, either I got used to it or the sounds just became richer. In any case, I've had these earphones for more than a month and I love it!!! So maybe it did go through a break-in period..........or not..........who knows??

Posted by Roan Pastor on September 29, 2003 at 5:43 PM (PDT)

29

Position is more critical than 'breaking in". Try repositioning the E2 once you have secured the cable around the back of your head. Just play with the position whilst the music is on and the bass and warmth will just appear.
Jimmyj- remember that the AKG phones have a much larger diaphragm and if you want the same sound from a smaller earpiece try the E5- A lot more, but if your that serious it's worth it!

Also both E1,E2 & E5's benefit from custom moulds which because they will seal your ear canal, provide much more background noise rejection. Therfore the bass will be more detailed and stronger.

Posted by Juan Perrioni on September 29, 2003 at 9:35 PM (PDT)

30

How much does a custom mold cost? I'm interested in having one made for my E2. The small foam plug fits me, but rather than spending $$ on these disposable items, maybe it's better spent towards a custom mold.

Posted by William on September 29, 2003 at 10:25 PM (PDT)

31

I had custom molds made at a local audiologist for $20. I sent them to [url=http://www.earplugstore.com]http://www.earplugstore.com[/url] and they're making the earbuds to fit my E2's for $65. Haven't received them yet, but customer service seems excellent. Will report back when they arrive...

Posted by SteveP on September 30, 2003 at 2:57 AM (PDT)

32

I finally decided to buy the E2's based on all the feedback I got from this thread.
I've had them for a about a week now,and they sounded great right out of the box. But now I'm curious about some of the postings I've read about "burning" them in. I've noticed that I have to continually adjust the EQ settings on the Ipod for songs that use live instrumentation,but for other types(i.e.House and other forms of Electronica),they sound fine. I'm also noticing that the soundfield is a little more prominent in the right channel-but I think that has a lot to do with the way the songs were originally mixed,which is pretty much the norm for Dance Music. Has anyone experienced this,or have any suggestions? I have a good seal,but I have been using the silicone buds. I never experienced this when I used my other headphones(Sony V6's),so I'm thinking maybe I should try the foam... .
Thanks.

Posted by Christianicononev.2 on October 2, 2003 at 9:23 PM (PDT)

33

My custom ear buds from earplugstore.com arrived two days ago. They fit perfectly on the stems of the E2's. Fit is perfect. The outside noise reduction is less than I get from the foam buds, but the comfort level is vastly improved. Sound quality improved as well, since I'm not constantly adjusting them or having the foam buds be inserted at different depths in my ears. I'm finally getting the sound quality the E2's are capable of providing. Definitely worth the investment.

Posted by SteveP on October 8, 2003 at 4:09 AM (PDT)

34

After spending some time with the E2's, I'm finally getting to appreciate them. The thinness I was experiencing has basically subsided due to two things. First, the positioning. They're not kidding when they say that you need to seriously spend some time getting to know how to position these things. After a week of use, I've finally got it figured out exactly how these fit best within my ears. Second, I did boost the bass ever so slightly on my EQ. Again, nothing dramatic, just a slight increase over the flat EQ and I've found that this brings that extra warmth I've been looking for without sacrificing any of the E2's clarity and detail.

I'm a fan. Now, about those E5's...

Posted by JimmyJ on October 8, 2003 at 7:01 AM (PDT)

35

hey SteveP, did u use the make your own impressions kit from the earplugstore? i just ordered the kit, but fear i'll screw it up. i'm too busy to find time for an audiologist, so this will hafta work.

Posted by DavidC on October 8, 2003 at 10:20 AM (PDT)

36

apparently i can't say S C R E W

Posted by DavidC on October 8, 2003 at 10:20 AM (PDT)

37

DavidC
I went to an audiologist. At $20, it was too good a deal to pass up. I called a few and prices ranged up to $50. Most had appointments within 3-4 days. I thought I'd probably mess things up if I did it myself. The audiologist also checked for big wax balls, etc. that might interfere with the mold. Unless you have an otoscope, that would be tough to do. Overall, the whole process took about 15 minutes. The audiologist took a pack of two silicone tubs, mixed them together, put it in a big syringe and squirted it into my ear. After 5 minutes, the stuff had hardened. He gave me the molds and a little shipping box to send them in. Totally painless.

Posted by SteveP on October 8, 2003 at 10:34 AM (PDT)

38

Steve P.

E2 vs E5

E5 (Benefits)
Detail, Intelligability, Bass Extention, Dynamic Impact, Warmth, Comfort, Separation, Smootness..........In Ear Nirvana.

You owe it to yourself to try a pair


Posted by Juan Perrioni on October 8, 2003 at 11:15 AM (PDT)

39

The E2's are sounding better and better,so I guess to get the best sound,you do have to burn them in,and also play around with the positioning(thanks Juan P.). For what I paid for them,these are most definitely a bargain.
I can't wait to trade up. Does anyone have any info on where I can find detailed reviews of the E5's?

Posted by Christianicononev.2 on October 11, 2003 at 9:02 PM (PDT)

40

He mentioned the Shure web site. There are others like [url=http://www.proaudiosuperstore.com]http://www.proaudiosuperstore.com[/url] that sells the professional verison for less than Shure sells the commercial verison. $20 is a lot cheaper! (I think they are actually the same unit just marketed differently.) Buy why not save some cash with the proaudiosuperstore guys? And free freight. I love mine.

Posted by David on October 17, 2003 at 10:27 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.