Shure E2c Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

81

Love them.

Not terribly techie so can't comment as some of the other posters have. However, love the isolating feature. Get on better with the silicon plugs not the foams (unlike a lot of others I think).

Also find them great for running. They wedge nicely in the ear so I don't lose them as I go along. There are no big padded bits to get soggy or fall off (like the Apple ones). I've read that you can hear the 'pounding' of your feet as you run and I agree. However, I think this 'pounding' is very quiet, particularly in comparison to the person on the treadmill next to me!

Posted by ChrisMouse in Bristol, UK on January 27, 2005 at 2:56 AM (PDT)

82

got these last week, first impressions:
regarding the size of rubber plugs use this guide.
large - for shrek
medium - for shaq
small - for me and most humans.

if that does not work try the foams.
i like the rubber/plastic as it is less messy and the seal is good.
For very small ears i can see the outside cartilage of your ears being pressed against the cone part of the phones - you may then want to try the e3.
The case is tight but doable.
The noise isolation is good and the sound is very nice. i am sure that you can get better phones than these but i realy don't care if i can't hear the 15th voice layer on the Tori Amos song or the sound of Tito Punte's jacket button scraping on the cymbals in the 1972 recording of Mambo Diablo...

for the money this is a good pair of earphones that deliver good isolation and great sound.

Posted by nyocean in New York on February 13, 2005 at 3:36 AM (PDT)

83

whadda u know?
my ears are bigger than i thought... after a while i tried the medium plastic plugs and have an even better seal than with the small ones!

Posted by nyocean in New York on February 15, 2005 at 7:55 AM (PDT)

84

Just received my pair of E2c. I've been using the Sony's MDR-EX51 and... What a difference! Is impressive! After reading so many posts in different forums, I was a not shure about them. Finally, I decided to order them and didn't notice any problem in achieving a good seal. The medium sleeves fit perfectly in my ears. The sound is rich, and the bass is clear (not muddy, as in the EX51's). They are worth the money I paid. Have only 5 days with them, and surprised by the comfort (others have experimented problems). My ears have been made for them!!!

I've read about the "break in" subject and can't believe that my E2c's can sound better. Of course, I'm a newby and my only reference are the EX51's. From now, I am saving money for a pair of E5c (or E6, when they become available).

I recommend this earphones without any reserve!!!!

Posted by andresborbon on March 25, 2005 at 10:16 AM (PDT)

85

I went from the EX71s to the E2cs. The EX71s are great earbuds, but the E2cs are just incredible. My wife is a concert pianist and she too is impressed with the E2cs.

Posted by ablessg in Tulsa, OK on April 24, 2005 at 7:23 PM (PDT)

86

I just bought the E2s some days ago basically because in the apple store they didn't have the eti6, which I suppose would have been the much better buy for only $50 extra. Anyway, the fit is rather uncomfortable and the sound, while being very transparent, somewhat disappointing because the bass is very, very thin. I don't know about this weird breaking-in perios (how's that supposed to work technically anyway?), but the original iPod phones have at least double the bass. I had to adjust the EQ to R&B to feel good about the e2s. Now they sound okay for classical music but still thin for any other thing. Any recommendations for using different foam sizes or in-ear positions. I was going to get rid of my e2s but maybe someone of you out there can give me some advice. Also maybe on keeping the foam clean?

Posted by torsti on May 3, 2005 at 6:19 AM (PDT)

87

Make sure you get a proper seal; it may take some experimenting. A lack of bass is the sign of a bad seal; remember that the e2's go in rather deep, so push them in well. A tip is to pull down on your ear lobes a tad to open your ear canals a bit more whilst pushing in the canalphones.

Takes a few uses and a bit of fiddling to get a good fit (as with most canalphones), but after a bit of practice you'll be able to get them in quickly and easily.

Posted by Elithrar in Perth, Australia on May 11, 2005 at 7:10 AM (PDT)

88

Got my e2c's from ebay, and have not complained yet. I've started to enjoy more and more the world of huge bitrates. I am using it mostly with my iPod shuffle, and it is neat. I have trouble turning the volume up, my ears hurt about halfway up.
When my room is crowded, I have no trouble playing f.ex CS without noticing people sneaking up on me, scaring the bejeeezes out of me. They really muffle down the sounds of the surrounding area.

The rubber plugs were like hurting my ears, but when i started wearing the foam medium ones, I discovered a whole new world. It is amazeing using them.
Just ordered new foams for it. My earcanals are not always clean, so they've gotten a bit discoloured:D

Ive tried the Sony EX-71, but they were just not the right fit, even though they were more iPod style. And the sound of these fitted shures give me goosebumps.

I have always routed my cord around and behind my back, so the coords are perfect. I wear them under my shirt, so they never hang up in objects. The coord is a bit long, thats a con.

As a first experience on in-ears, I am impressed. Too bad the foams are too expensive in Norway, so I have to order them from the US.

I would also greatly appreciate any comments/reviews on the "Ultra-Soft Sleeves" for the e2c.

Posted by ponduz on June 13, 2005 at 8:20 PM (PDT)

89

I ordered two pairs of the E2c's, one for me and one for my mother in response to her not enjoying the sound quality of the standard Apple earbuds on a recent plane ride. Got them a couple days ago, and I have to say that I think that all of the nay-sayers who have been posting reviews should think twice.

First off, I don't know how the E2c's were shipping back in '03 when the first reviews were written, but now today in 2005 this is what comes in the box:
•the E2c's, zip-case
•foam sleeves in three sizes
•PVC "flex" sleeves in three sizes
•"Ultra-soft" rubber sleeves in three sizes
•Instruction manual in three languages
•a waring on listening to music to loudly
•warranty information
•earwax guards

A little info about the sleeves:
•The PVC sleeves are pretty stiff but not uncomfortable as long as you use the right size. They provide very good sound isolation. The smallest size seems to be slightly larger than the ultra soft sleeves.
•The Ultra-soft sleeves can basically be compared to the sleeves that you would find on a pair of sony's. IN the house, they block out almost all vocal and TV noise. I could see how people may find these easier on the ears for extended periods.
•The foam sleeves definitely provide the best isolation, blocking virtually all outside sound. They feel a little stiff, but when you roll them and let them expand in your ears it feels like inserting foam earplugs.

Notes on wearing the E2c's:
•I noticed that people said that it was hard to get these phones in your ears and in right. Well, i have found that the only part of getting these in your ears that really takes time or thought is unwrapping them from the case and keeping your wires straight. The first time my mother picked them up she slipped the wire around her ear and inserted them without reading the instructions or having to be told. It is really a rather quick and painless process, and once you do it one or two times it will become second nature. Besides, if you have been using the trusty old Apple Earbuds you probably spend plenty of time getting them in just the right spot or adjusting them as you go about your day where wit the Shure's, they just stay where you put them.
•As for where the cord goes, I don't see/feel any reason why you can't wear it down your front instead of your back.

Notes on cord size/guage:
•Yes, the cords for the E2c's are relatively beefy (so to speak). This is not a bad thing, as was pointed out in prior reviews it really isn't that heavy. Plus, I have a friend who had been using the Sony MDR-EX81's which have a relatively thin cord which after less than a year had sweated out. The cord on the E2c is by no means as thick as my laptop power cord, but if it can take a little more abuse, i think that is a plus.

Now the important section, sound quality:
•I am by no means an audio expert, but I am a theatre sound engineer, so i listen to many different sources with many different monitoring devices. The E2c's seem to produce a relatively flat response which means that as people have said they don't have a "boomy" bass. Personally I don't find this necessary, and if you are really after that sound you should be using over the ear headphones with drivers that are big enough to really reproduce those sounds. The response of the E2c's seems to provide an accurate soundscape to the recording, meaning what you hear is what you would have heard when the recording was made or mixed. As soon as I started using the E2c's i started hearing parts of the music that i never new were there, adding an entirely new dimension to my music listening. You also start to really hear the differences in bit-rates of files and the difference between MP3's and AAC's (MP4's).
•The other important thing about sound quality is that you do have to have the E2c's in the right position to get the best quality. But this is not a new concept, no matter what head/earphone you have, it has to be in the right place to get the best sound. With the E2c's if you don't have a good seal you don't get good bass, as people have said.

Miscellaneous Notes:
•Shure is a company that specializes in producing professional audio equipment. It is not proper to compare professional quality equipment to consumer grade equipment like Sony. Also, you really can't compare an earbud like the MDR-EX71's which list at $50 to the Shure E2c's which list at $100. As with almost all technology,you have to pay for quality.
•I have found that the E2c's are very comfortable for sleeping. I often like to listen to music when i go to sleep, helps drown out dorm life, and it is relaxing. I have found that the E2c's tuck nicely into my ears, and when I lie on my side with my head on the pillow i don't notice that they are there.
•There seems to by a mistake in the manual, it states that the bi-color shelled earbud is left, but this is not the case. You can tell just by looking at them that it wouldn't sit correctly in your ear, but I did a pan test just to be sure. The bi-color bud is definitely for the right. (at least in the two pairs i ordered)

Over all I would give the Shure E2c's an excellent rating, and i would recommend them to anyone who wants a pair of high quality earphones. They give great sound isolation even with the ultra-soft sleeves. Unless you like the "boomy" sound of other headphones the Shure E2c's will give you great reproduction. You can find them online for about $65.

Posted by A. Weisman on December 31, 2005 at 8:18 PM (PDT)

90

The best thing to do with these headphones is to get the graphite inserts instead of custom molds. I used to use the foam, used it extensively for about 2 months, and I was satisfied.

But, they are ugly, and take some getting used to. The graphite ones, which are available online fit perfectly and snugly, look good, and are generally ideal. Haven't tried custom-fit, but I would imagine the graphite are close for a fraction of the price.

Posted by danman77 on January 19, 2006 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

Page 5 of 5 pages « First  <  3 4 5

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.