Shure E3c Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

21

Ha, note that the 1489.95 in my above comment should probably be 149.95. LOL

Posted by Stem on May 6, 2004 at 9:58 PM (PDT)

22

hey, i just bought a pair of ec3s, i love them. Walked home from university and grinned from ear to ear when car after car drove passed and i couldnt hear them at all smile
i have some minor comfort problems that i think will got away with time and practice.

i was wanting to ask if any of you guys can hear your feet hitting the street when you walk or run home? i ususally hear a comstand thud and it gets quite annoying. i ususally find myself 'tip-toeing' home.
any tips on this? or any of you had the same problems??

ferg

Posted by ferg on May 7, 2004 at 10:12 AM (PDT)

23

i must add something about the isolation with the silicone flex sleeves. when there is no sound playing, it is true that we can hear up to 75% of outside noise. however, as soon as your iPod volume is anything beyond 35%, that noise it gone. absolutely gone. i listen to anywhere between 40%-80% (otherwise it's practically tearing my eardrums - it's just too loud, even with these small drivers) and i never ever heard any outside noise. which is why some of my friends have complained that i'm now deaf whenever i have them on, i can't hear them at all.

this fact that you can hear people without music laying is good for one thing. when you do need to listen to people, you can simply turn the volume down, and you won't ahve to pull them out. i think this is brilliant. putting them on and off 20x a day can get annoying.

Posted by Ryan1524 on May 7, 2004 at 10:35 AM (PDT)

24

Qtips are worse than useless for earwax. My ears produce copious amounts. Our family doctor used to clean my ears for me once a year. A move and a new doctor uninterested in providing what he considered personal hygene showed me how to take care of myself.

Lay down, fill one ear canal with hydrogen peroxide and wait till the bubbles stop. Repeat on the other ear. Fill a dental waterpik with warm water. Aim into your ear canal and slowly turn up the output staying below the point of discomfort. (Obviously not a good idea if you have an ear infection or pain.)

A few minutes hanging over the sink and you will have clean ears and be able to hear again.

Posted by Juris on May 8, 2004 at 8:33 AM (PDT)

25

I have a pair and wouldn't trade them for anything less - the build and sound quality are superb. All this comes at a price though, both financial and convenience. I find the act of reaching around my head, rolling a foam sleeve, pulling my ear, inserting the sleeve and holding it, repeating on the other ear, pulling the wire-cinch and arranging the cord to be something of a pain. It's fast-approaching ritualistic ease though.

None of the flex sleeves that came with the E3s really worked very well for me and I had to shell out for a bag of the foam sleeves. If you try them, you'll be hooked and at two dollars a pair, you'll want to reuse them for as long as possible. I've already wasted a pair by stepping on them.

Despite all this, they sound fantastic. Very flat response down to around 60Hz or so. I use a pair of expensive near-field monitors at home for doing audio work and these come close to the level of detail I get from those. These are an entry-level, pro-quality in-ear-monitor. If you can put up with the hassles, they'll reward you with sound.

Posted by boolean in Ottawa, ON on May 11, 2004 at 4:37 AM (PDT)

26

Got my first pair at clubmac.com about a month ago for $159 and love it. Saw it on sale for $119 (ahh...! This really p***ed me off!) at ecost.com. so I get the 2nd pair for my bf.

Posted by peib on May 12, 2004 at 2:45 PM (PDT)

27

I too feel the pain of the classic flex sleeve. The ultra-soft work pretty well, and I generally use the smaller to mid-size ones. I do like the foam sleeves but found the foam density to be a little hard on the ears. So, I tried different foam earplugs by cutting one in half, then peircing the middle with an awl, and shoving it on to the ear phone before it expanded too far. Works pretty well and is a good deal cheaper than the Shure models. I was worried that, without the inner plastic sleeve, they would fall off all the time. In two weeks of heavy transit testing, they are holding tough, and I wouldn't want to use foam inserts much longer than a month or so. My new idea: Sculpy home-created custom ear molds. Though I'm a little leary of sticking that stuff in my ear to make a mold. Just a theory at this point.....

Posted by largejar on May 21, 2004 at 8:47 AM (PDT)

28

Just got mine today and have been experimenting. I like hip-hop so at first I was dissapointed about the bass but I poked around and have heard that the foam tips are the best, so I tried them.

The foam tips are fantastic on all levels:
Bass: 4/5
Comfort: 5/5
Noise-reduction: 5/5

The other tips can be cleaned, so I'll have to buy more of these foamies.

Posted by Josh on May 27, 2004 at 2:24 PM (PDT)

29

Finally, acceptable headphones. I've tried etymotics er4ps (annoying cord noise), Bose quietcomfort (uncomfortable for longer than 1 hour, aggravated my tinnitus), and sony mdr ex71sl (air turbulence causes whistling sound while walking or in breeze).

The E3Cs are comfortable, have excellent sound and noise isolation.

Posted by Frank on June 4, 2004 at 4:24 PM (PDT)

30

Any further comments on the Shure E3s versus the Etymotic ER-4Ps? I'm trying to decide between the two and would appreciate any comments on comfort / noise-reduction / sound quality (particularly bass) between the two.

Thanks

Posted by Yale on June 6, 2004 at 6:43 AM (PDT)

31

HI everybody! Like Yale, I have a dilemma. I'm interested in either getting the Shure E3c earphones, or the Etymotic ER-6 earphones. Does anyone (who either knows a great amount about the two or has either the two) have a suggestion? They're a bit expensive and I want to make the Best decistion instead of a costly one. By the way, I'm a big bass fan and I've noticed that a couple of the reviews had negative remarks about the E3c's. Please feel free to email me. Thanks a whole lot!

John

Posted by John on June 12, 2004 at 7:46 AM (PDT)

32

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) is my email address

John

Posted by John Davis in New York on June 12, 2004 at 8:03 AM (PDT)

33

I have the ER-6 and the E3C. IMO the E3C is a much better earphone. The ER-6’s are okay and the sound is good but they have a terrible 90 day warranty, the wiring is super thin compared to the E3C, it tangles really easily and picks up more wind and clothing noise, bass is a bit thin and they are much less efficient, IOW the Shure’s are much louder at the same settings. I think the ER6 would have problems with many solid state MP3 players that tend to have low output. The ER6s are easier to put in your ear as they pop straight in rather than routing the wire around the ear but I found only the foam sleeves comfortable, with the Shure I like the Flex or the foam. With the ER-6 I listen with the bass tweaked a bit and at a higher volume setting, with the E3C I don't use any equalization. Oddly, the E3C fits better in the soft Etyomotic case and the ER-6 in the hard shell with wrap-around-core Shure case.

Posted by Stem on June 19, 2004 at 5:00 PM (PDT)

34

i just got a pair of e3s on the wknd and i love em but is it just me or does it not matter a toss whether you put them in upside down like recommended or rite side up as far as sound quality.i think you only need to wrap em over your ear if youll be moving around a lot(the weight of the cord etc. rests on your ear not pulling at the phone itself)at any rate the best in ear phones for the money and i get to feel one up on people i see proudly displaying those atrocious sounding uncomfortable white buds.anyone considering these should just do it.

Posted by daver on June 21, 2004 at 2:36 PM (PDT)

35

Im in the same boat as John, the E3c vs the ER-6. Stem likes the E3c. Anyone else have experience with both? Or, if you have one or the other, what factor made you choose the one you have?

Posted by Eric on June 24, 2004 at 8:31 PM (PDT)

36

E3cs with Triple Flange Sleeves is isolation heaven. I got them last week and have been wearing them for about 4-6 hours straight and are very comfortable.

Posted by RaiZe on June 25, 2004 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

37

I am not an audiophile, but I appreciate listening to music that simulates actual acoustics over car-rattling bass. I bought the E3cs and found them "tinny" and thin. I also could never get them to stay in my ears, even though I followed the directions and experiemented with them throughout my 30-day trial period. I wanted to like them and wanted to justify their cost. But discomfort, falling out of my ears, and weak sound let me to return them.

Posted by Scott on June 27, 2004 at 8:13 AM (PDT)

38

Scott:

That's a real shame. You should've tried the yellow foamies. They keep the phones in your ears... a really tight fit. When you get a good seal, the sound is nice and thick. The bass isn't huge, but it's not supposed to be for headphones that tout clarity and accuracy. (Although, I LOVE huge low end and would by a bass-enhanced E3c IMMEDIATELY if there was such a thing.) However, the bass reaches down far below most headphones I've tried, without being boomy. In other words, The bass isn't quite as loud and overpowering as in some other cheaper in-ear headphones, but the bass you do get sounds more natural, more detailed, tighter.

Oh, and after trying all of the crappy EQ presets n the iPod, I've settled on Hip Hop. It's similar to Rock or R&B, but there's no painful high-mid boost. Just adds a little low end and a bit of high end. Works great with my E3c's.

Posted by Mudflap on July 5, 2004 at 10:58 AM (PDT)

39

Just got my E3C's yesterday at a great bargain from MobileCityOnline.com ($149.99, not paid endorsment from the vendor), The sound and comfort is great!. Tried Apple's in ear pods and was quite disappointed on both sound and they kept getting loose allowing air in and messing up the sound. The sleeve that came installed with the E3c's fit me perfectly that I not ventured to try the other types or sizes. I've used them both upside down with cord over ear and right side up with cord in front and both work for me. The only thing that concerns me is that you are really isolated from the outside world and id tornado sirens are on you won't hear them.

Posted by ecelis on July 10, 2004 at 6:49 AM (PDT)

40

Got the E3C's. Put on a pair of the flex sleeves and went to the gym. Was ready to box them up and send them back on my return home. Until I put the foam sleeves in. The flex sleeves make the phones sound HORRIBLE. I can't believe they even include them. Am very happy with the E3C's and may even get the custom molded ear-pieces, but junk the flex sleeves entirely. They flatten out the sound quality as if they are a big bypass filter.

Posted by kingfitz in Chicago on July 23, 2004 at 3:59 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.