Sonnet Podfreq FM Transmitter | iLounge

Reviews

1

Really good review.
I didn't think this product was very good, just by looking at it - now my thoughts are confirmed.

Edit by Jeremy Horwitz, March 2005: iPodlounge has deleted a collection of negative and derogatory comments from "audiogeek" on our site, which we discovered have been posted by a writer for competing publications. As he has trolled and posted obnoxious comments in a number of threads, picking fights with our readers and editors, he has been banned from the site, and we strongly oppose his repeated mischaracterizations of various products and our editorial opinions. This comments thread was affected by his posts, and has therefore been modestly edited. If any of the other comments below do not make sense in the context of these deletions, we apologize.

Posted by Harrison in Melbourne, Australia on April 30, 2004 at 12:50 AM (PDT)

2

Good review, I actually like the look of it! I just wish they weren’t governed by the FCC regulations so we could have a better signal all round.

Posted by Andrew on April 30, 2004 at 1:57 AM (PDT)

3

I found the review to be rather agressive and possibly offensive. This is a very niche market and their product seems to be very unique and very useful. As far as a protective case, who throws their iPOD inside of a backpack full of books in the first place? And the fact that it has a built-in firewire and USB is really neat! Imagine how bulky it would be if you had to tote the docking station and iPOD with you wherever you went. It appears that the antenna is telescopic, right? If you put the antenna down, there's no-way this thing is a foot tall. I think that the podfreq's stand is an ingenious design. It folds in and out right? I think they went out of their way to make this one of the best accessories available and their attempt, even if there are a couple of "flaws" shouldn't be thrown at them so harsh. I personally think that the design and the detail of it are beautiful. It looks like it was made to go with the unit! I suppose if reviews like this happened all the time, nobody would make accessories to our gadgets and we would just have to live with them the way they are. I suppose that "Big" and "Fat" are subjective. If you live in a cardboard box, than it might be "Big". For most people, something slightly larger isn't a big deal. Remember the old cellphones? How big were those things? People still used them, right? Thumbs up to Sonnet for making a wonderful accessory for the iPOD. I look forward to buying a couple of them as soon as they are released.

Posted by Bill on April 30, 2004 at 12:04 PM (PDT)

4

Bill must work for this loser company...

Posted by Rob on April 30, 2004 at 12:21 PM (PDT)

5

I sure don't work for Sonnet but I like the design of the PodFreq too. The size complaints, like the other criticisms, are overdone. This is a device to use at home and in a car, it's not supposed to fit in your pocket.

Also the only competitor that offers built-in 'charge while driving' is the Monster iCarPlay, not the Griffin or Belkin products mentioned. First gen 12-volt FW chargers are available for $7 or so these days and can be used with an ordinary 6-6 FireWire cable, which LOTS of people already have. I've considered the iCarPlay, but would also like to use a transmitter indoors and in other places 12-volt plugs can't be found.

As of yet none of these devices offer the exact combination of features I'm looking for and none appear to be either head and shoulders above or significantly below the others in performance.

Posted by Tim on April 30, 2004 at 12:59 PM (PDT)

6

tim - you miss the point, this crazy thing doesnt let you charge while driving using any of the 3g chargers on the market... you need to use cables which are not standard anymore for the connection. who wants to spend $100 on a transmitter and then $10 or $20 on cables and then $10 or 20 on a special charger.. that's crazy.. crazy i tell you.

use griffin or belkin's product and you don't need to go out and buy another charger. and it's cheaper.

bill - good luck buying a 'couple' of them man.. keep up the rah-rah-rah baby.

Posted by anony t. mouse on April 30, 2004 at 4:39 PM (PDT)

7

also you guys must be popping with cash to have $100 to spend on one of these things... let alone $200 for two of them. that is crazy money compared to $30 iTrip.

Posted by anony t. mouse on April 30, 2004 at 4:42 PM (PDT)

8

Who cares? If you don't like it, don't buy it.

Posted by Larry on April 30, 2004 at 5:05 PM (PDT)

9

anony t mouse said: "use griffin or belkin's product and you don't need to go out and buy another charger. and it's cheaper."

Right. And when your batteries go dead? Like I said only the Monster iCarPlay actually charges your iPod (and powers the transmitter) while driving -- something that can be accomplished with a $7 charger and a normal FW cable (with the PodFreq). My 3G iPod didn't come with a 12-volt charger, did yours?

Posted by Tim on April 30, 2004 at 5:08 PM (PDT)

10

All the other transmitters are great, if you like cables. Everyone is missing the point of this transmitter/USB/Firewire adapter. It totally operates off of the iPOD's battery and there is no need for any of the cables. If you are driving 5 hours, you need to seriously get a life and charge your iPOD's battery pack or buy a charger.

The iTrip takes some lame software to change frequencies. The review stated that it doesn't have a backlight and that's a negative. I'm sorry, if your car doesn't have a dome light that you can use to temporarily change frequencies, I think you should save your money and purchase a dome-light!! WTF!

I don't work for this "Looser company", as "Rob" so put it. (side note to Rob, go back to smokin crack buddy!)

If you're looking for the perfect accessory to the iPOD, buy a G4 and a transmitter, throw it in your car and get on with your life. This is a simple transmitter/docking station for the iPOD and it received a very harsh review as far as I am concerned.

If you can't afford an iPOD accessory, why did you buy an iPOD in the first place? Go get yourself a cheap MP3 player with some flimsy headphones and throw that in your backpack!!!

Posted by Bill on April 30, 2004 at 5:28 PM (PDT)

11

bill: iTrip also 'operates off of the ipod's battery' and costs $30. i think it's better to have 'lame software' than a lame antenna in your car but that's just me. and i also don't like to throw away money, unlike you.

tim: my ipod didn't come with a charger or a "normal FW" cable or a 12-volt charger.. but anyone with an existing charger for 3G ipod can't use it with this thing.. too much to ask for a $100 transmiter.

Posted by anony t mouse on April 30, 2004 at 5:51 PM (PDT)

12

i think compared to other similar items out there on the market, this thing isn't as bulky and unwielding like the reviewer made it out to be. look at that transpod fm thing, like that "complements" the iPod?? i think each of these products have their pluses and minuses.

i also heard that there was a hack to actually boost the signal of the podfreq. now if that is the case, then i might be interested in seeing what this has to offer. otherwise, ill stick with the itrip.

Posted by larry on May 1, 2004 at 11:51 AM (PDT)

13

Maybe i missed something, what is the plus of this product? and isn't this like half the height of the transpod (transpod doesn't have an antenna does it? and who wants a transpod anyway)?

Posted by frank on May 1, 2004 at 12:38 PM (PDT)

14

jesus, people, lets learn how to spell iPod. it's i-P-o-d. not iPOD, not IPOD, not ipod. come on. how hard is this?

Posted by jake on May 1, 2004 at 7:19 PM (PDT)

15

To Bill and those supportive of this product, even if it were a good product, what does it do better that the iTrip can't do?? And for the price of 2 iTrips!

Unique design it may be, but how is it any better than iTrip?

Posted by what on May 4, 2004 at 5:21 PM (PDT)

16

oh and just because there's a worse product (transpod) doesn't mean this is good!

that's like saying George Bush is more handsome than PeeWee herman, but that's not saying much at all!

Oops actually peewee herman is more handsome. And quite a bit smarter.

Posted by what on May 4, 2004 at 5:27 PM (PDT)

17

Make No Mistake, I will buy 20 of them when they are released, in order to trump Bill..... Bill Clinton

10 will go to my loyal soldiers fighting in Irack, I mean Irak, so they don't perish without listening to music through their radios.

Posted by george dubya on May 4, 2004 at 5:34 PM (PDT)

18

Dude, spell it right. It's iRak. Jeez.

Posted by proanim8r in Tampa, FL on May 5, 2004 at 11:37 AM (PDT)

19

The car adapter issues aside, why would anyone pay $100 when an equally good (acutally, better, IMO) product is available for $35?

Posted by VoiceOfLogic on May 14, 2004 at 8:13 AM (PDT)

20

Note: I haven't decided if I'm going to buy one of these or not. But ...

What does this do that the others don't do? Easy. It allows you to use the iPod remote.

Don't want or need to use the remote? Fine, no problem. But SOME of us do. My main (99%) ride is a motorcycle (Honda GoldWing). Ever try to pause, repeat, go to next song with gloves on? Sorry, no can do. But with the PodFreq you can. For some of us that IS a killer feature. Oh, and every try to turn on an iPod when you don't have a chance to stop on the side of the road (many reasons)? I could if I could use the remote. But with the iTrip? NOOOOOO.

Another is that you have to adjust the volume on the iPod to a specific sound volume to get best results. Again. VERY difficult on a motorcycle. With the PodFreq is uses the line-out which is always the same.

Now if only the iTrip had a port on the top so I could plug in my iPod remote into it. So far "talking" to Griffin has gotten me no where. So what other choice do I have if the iTrip can't do what I need it to do. Mainly giving me the ability to use the iPod remote.

Posted by Sabon on May 16, 2004 at 7:26 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.