Speck Products FlipStand 3G | iLounge

Reviews

21

WARNING: I posted earlier that I liked this case, but I'd like to retract my statements. I've owned two ipods in the past three months and each time, after putting them in this case, noticable scratches appear on the screen. Rest assure I will not be using this case anymore.

Posted by dave on February 14, 2004 at 5:59 AM (PDT)

22

I have a 3g 40GB ipod
Can anyone suggest a case that will work with the apple dock. I use my ipod frequently with my home stereo. So being able to protect it from dust and possibly being knocked over by a cat I need a case that works with the dock.
I am not a huge fan of the silicone "skins" cases. It seems that much lint sticks to them, which is a good thing to have it stick to the skin and not the ipod. But again being a cat person, I can only imagine a hairy ipod sitting atop my stereo.
I don't need a belt clip, I don't need to attach itrips or other of the bulkier accesories. I do however use the cd/cassette adapter in the car.
So access to the remote & earphone ports as well as being able to use it with the original dock...that is all I ask. Oh yeah, and a pony!

Posted by disneychick in Oakland, California on February 20, 2004 at 8:03 AM (PDT)

23

My only complaint wiht this case is that i did put some small scratches on the front of my 15gb G3 iPod when inserting it ito the case. This doesn't bother me much just as long as the iPod still works I am all set. I am very happy with this case.

Posted by dowjones dpk on April 9, 2004 at 6:13 PM (PDT)

24

Just so you know the usb 2.0 cord WILL FIT in the dock. Also you can you CAN DRILL the top hole to fit third party headphones. and YES IT WILL SCRATCH THE IPOD if you keep on taking it out and putting it in just leave it in people

Posted by Guy on April 27, 2004 at 11:19 AM (PDT)

25

DO NOT BUY. THIS THING SCRATCHED THE FACE OF MY IPOD.. YOU WILL BE SORRY.. DO NOT BUY7 THE CONTOUR IS A BETTER SOLUTION..

Posted by JR on May 16, 2004 at 4:23 PM (PDT)

26

I bought my 40 gb ipod on Wed., bought a neoprine case on Wed. eve., returned that one...bought a countour, returned that...and bought this speck case.

The neoprine one seemed too flim sy and the screen protector and button holes were a strugggle to allign.

The contour case was excellant, seemed to be durable, well made, and looked and felt like it wouild protect the ipod from not only the elements, but also form an unexpected fall. The problem with it was that in order to use my iTRIP (which i really like) I'd have to remove the ipod from the case and in the car I was also interested in having the protection. So back it went.

Now I have the Speck case/stand and although when I'm charging with the car adaptor the flip stand/scroll wheel cover can be a bit cumbersome to deal with I have really liked it...That was until I read the reviews here and checked my ipod for face scratchs. Sure enough theres three or four scratchs (one on the botom of the screen) caused by a cove that was supposed to protect it from such things.

Now I'm a bit bummed.


Posted by Brianipod on June 19, 2004 at 12:41 PM (PDT)

27

It does scratch you Ipod even if its the 30 or 40 gb models. It scratches the face twice more than the original carrying case so if you want to use this just leave it in and never ever take it out.

Posted by idsym on June 30, 2004 at 4:33 AM (PDT)

28

is there any way to buy the dock only?

If so, can you dock WITHOUT removing it from a different skin (iSkin evo or similar)

Posted by heather on July 15, 2004 at 9:22 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.