Speck Products Mini Arm Band | iLounge

Reviews

1

Good review. I prefer the cleaner look of Apple's band and clip. The mini doesn't need all that protection, and deserves to be shown off without being obscured by a case. But that's just me. For others who feel more secure with a case, it great to have an alternative.

Just a nit picky point, in the second paragraph of the Apple band review, you wrote "it holds well on the forearm..." I'd like to point out that most people will be wearing the band on their upper arms instead of the forearms.

Posted by Starboard on July 30, 2004 at 12:51 PM (PDT)

2

Typo; fixed, thanks.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz on July 30, 2004 at 4:14 PM (PDT)

3

Hey, I was just wondering if it's possible to take the clip off of the arm band and use it as a belt clip?

Posted by Cameron on July 31, 2004 at 5:06 PM (PDT)

4

I like the apple armband, but do they have any difference in how secure my mini is? I wouldn't want it to drop and hit the ground.

Posted by Mr. Mac on August 1, 2004 at 3:14 PM (PDT)

5

is it perfectly safe??

Posted by Avril on August 9, 2004 at 3:00 AM (PDT)

6

I would be more interested in a case that protects the iPod Mini from moisture. For anyone who uses theirs for any form of sports, anything less than a completely water resistant covering will result in the iPod Mini no longer working. I use mine to run with, and have had to develop a make-shift arrangement with a small ziplock bag used in conjunction with the Apple clip. I am waiting for the oPod for the iPod Mini.

Posted by Dudley Warner on August 9, 2004 at 12:02 PM (PDT)

7

Avril, I once went out for a 6 mile jog with my 3g 15gb (bare, no cover anything). I was just holding it in my hand. Well, I got caught in a thunderstorm at mile 3. I was soaked, shoes, clothes, hair, THE IPOD, everything. As I bust my ### to race home through the down pour, the Ipod didn't stop playing:) I respected it so much more now:)

Posted by Jing Liang on August 15, 2004 at 12:40 AM (PDT)

8

The iPod or the case?

Posted by Cameron on August 22, 2004 at 11:19 AM (PDT)

9

Can you use a skin together with the apple armband or will that be too thick for the clip to hold?

Posted by Sian on August 27, 2004 at 4:31 AM (PDT)

10

Oh one more thing. What does it look like worn on the arm with headphones? Wouldn't the headphones come up a bit long and catch onto something?

Posted by Sian on August 27, 2004 at 4:33 AM (PDT)

11

During my first run I was really impressed how conveniently fixed the iPod rested on my arm. But after the second run I saw that the three layers of the armband started to unglue. Time by time they fell more and more apart so that I had to return it. Has anybody made a similar experience - or should I ask my doctor about the corrosiveness of my sweat?

Posted by ralph on October 1, 2004 at 12:24 PM (PDT)

12

I own the Speck armband but don't trust it when I go running in the rain because of all the openings in the case, so I've also bought an XtremeMac Sportwrap. It has several advantages over the Speck. The big one for me is that it is rain proof - essential for the British weather! It is also held very close and tight against the arm, whereas the Speck wobbles a little when on the run (it pivots on the clip and the added weight of the case doesn't help). The Sportwrap also has a handy area for tucking away excess cable.

Haven't seen it on sale in Britain yet - I bought mine from America on Ebay. Including postage to the UK it worked out at around £16.

Posted by nforne in UK on December 9, 2004 at 2:36 PM (PDT)

13

I decided to purchase the XtremeMac Sportwrap, and I love it! I decided on this case because by design, it keeps my Mini the most secure. The fact that it is waterproof is another huge benefit for those hot days when I'm out jogging.

One thing I had to get used to was plugging in the headphones. Since the case is waterproof, the slit covering the headphone plug is very tight. You may have to wiggle the jack around once you insert it. Otherwise, you'll only have sound in one headphone or neither. You get used to this. It is definitely not a deterrent to owning this case!



Posted by sassylady on January 27, 2005 at 9:14 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.