Speck Products Skin Tight 4G iPod Skin | iLounge

Reviews

21

As you all know the price of the ipod can get users a bit paranoid about scratches, dings and drops. After purchasing my 4g 20gig, I knew that I needed to get a case. There were quite a few options out there and I decided finally that I wanted to get a silicon or rubber skin case. Again, multiple options, but I narrowed it down and decided on the Speck Frosted Clear Skin. Although this skin is said to be made for both 20 and 40 gig models, it doesnt fit either very well. The 20gig is not as tight as I would have liked it to be, and the 40gig is too tight, not allowing the shape of the skin to fit over the screen, scroll wheel and back properly. I have been very pleased with amount of shock it absorbs along with the extra grippy material that it is made out of on my 20gig. The Speck Skin has a fold down bottom section that allows users to dock their iPod without taking it out of the case. This is a really useful feature for people who use the dock often. There is a small piece of raised silicon in the bottom-inside of the case that plugs into the iPod's data port, holding the skin tightly in place and helping the bottom of the skin stay closed. The nice frosted clear color lets the ipod retain it's original style while barely adding any extra size to the unit in whole. Although I haven't tested other skins for the ipod, overall the Speck Skin get's a B rating from me as well. If they made one version for the 20gig and another version for the 40gig it would fit better for everyone. Also some people may be concerned with the lack of screen/scrollwheel protection, although I prefer to have these exposed and not behind plastic. Good skin overall, worth the $20. I got mine on [url=http://www.newegg.com]http://www.newegg.com[/url] and it shipped exceptionaly fast. Good luck.

Posted by djrima in Tigard on November 13, 2004 at 5:32 AM (PDT)

22

Since there's now way I can get my money back from Speck, I'll be happy if I can keep one 4G 40GB ipod owner (especially one who uses itrip) from buying this case. The lack of a perfect fit on my 40GB ipod is weak, though I suppose I should have been more suspicious of the one size fits all claim. What REALLY kills this case is its complete inability to work correctly with itrip. To get itrip to work with this I have to keep my ipod upside down in a cup holder and basically keep pressure on it with one hand while driving. The problem is that the stereo mini plug doesn't go all the way in, so sound only comes out of the left channel unless you keep pressure on the itrip, forcing the right channel to connect. I've been doing this for about a week now, and it's infuriating.

Speck says on their website that they will take it back in original condition for a full refund. I think I'm going to send it back and buy an evo2.

40GB users who use iTrip -- DON'T BUY THIS CASE!!!

Posted by podwar on November 18, 2004 at 12:51 PM (PDT)

23

I have this case for my 40gb 4g ipod and it works fine. it is hard to take off and on but i love being able to dock it without taking the whole case off. but i bought some ishades from iskin and they work fine

Posted by snowboogiethunder on December 3, 2004 at 10:36 PM (PDT)

24

I have 3 & they work brilliantly. Only problem is there is no screen or click-wheel protection. give it a B.

Posted by Mrs_S_Reid_2_B on December 26, 2004 at 8:50 PM (PDT)

25

Dont Get this case... Gave mine scratches and has faded my ipods white glimmer.

Anyone else have this problem?

Posted by Loungin on January 1, 2005 at 4:13 PM (PDT)

26

I had this case on my 20gb ipod for several months with no complaints - until last night! I took the case off, and the case appears to have left some sort of silicon residue all over my ipod. It didn't immediately wipe off, and whether I can buff it all off or not is still unclear. Either way, I tossed it out and went looking for a new case to replace it - also to get one with screen and wheel protection.

Posted by MMartin on January 6, 2005 at 4:10 PM (PDT)

27

I just got my ipod a week and a few days ago..
When i brought it i knew i would need a case so i went and brought the specks 3 pack. Firstly i had a hard time putting the skin on because i have a 40 gig Photo
also.. i dont like the fact that it has a gap in the back, its just really annoying. and Im not crazya bout the colors, i had the pink one on for a while, i and really concerding just buying the evo blush pink, it looks way better.brighter, and looks like it fits better. right now i have the frosted skin on my ipod, which does protected it very well i must give it that, but i might try an evo instead.

Posted by Dawn Marie in New York City on January 10, 2005 at 10:53 PM (PDT)

28

Has anyone tried the Speck armband? Does it stay on your arm well? Would it be good for working out or running? Lastly could you compare it to the Marware Convertible armband?

Posted by imuphere on January 23, 2005 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

29

I got the three pack from QVC. They are the only cases i have for my iPod, so i have to be happy.

i don't like the fact that they don't have a screen or click-wheel cover, but i just got some plastic from the fabric section at wal-mart, wet it a little, and put it on my screen and pushed out all the air-bubbles and it works just great! i can't even tell there is something on it. I haven't covered the click wheel yet.

I have a 20 gig, so it fits very well. The flap at the bottom concerns me sometimes because it doesn't fully butt up to the edge when shut, leaving a sliver of metal exposed.

I don't mind the way it feels. It is a pain to put on and when you take it off your ipod needs buffed, but i leave mine on all the time, so i really don't notice. The plastic makes it hard to put into and get out of pockets. :-(

Overall, I'd give it an A--. it needs screen and click wheel covers, and something needs to be done about the way the flap fits back over it, but i love having three different covers. and i love knowing that my ipod is protected from scratches and smudges.

Posted by jPod523 in Ohio, USA on February 1, 2005 at 7:40 PM (PDT)

30

I think the 3-pack is awesome. My mom and I share them and both of us are completely happy with the product. Like already mentioned, the lack of click wheel and screen protection sucks, but it looks like you could use other protection. I am sure that the stuff offered by iSkin would work with the case, so I would heartily recommend the case(s) to anyone with a 20 gb iPod because it has not yet scratched my iPod, as the two previous cases have.

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on March 4, 2005 at 5:22 PM (PDT)

31

Wow was this ever a waste of money! The case fits poorly on my 40 gig iPod, feels terrible to the touch, and damaged my iPod. On top of all that it proived zero screen or wheel pretection and is a real pain to put on or take off. Thumbs down.

Posted by kmattson on March 22, 2005 at 11:16 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.