Speck Products ToughSkin | iLounge

Reviews

1

Looks good from all angles. Although I'm a bit suspicious of the flip-lid for the dial, shouldn't it flip open 'away' rather than 'towards' the user?

Posted by iZON in London on February 8, 2005 at 9:26 AM (PDT)

2

I really hope this fits the iPod Photo better than the other Speck skins. I was extremely unhappy with the one I recently purchased for my Photo as it is too small and bulges all over the place and really doesn't offer a whole lot of protection what so ever. The only thing it is good for is preventing my iPod from sliding around in my car.

Posted by instantpop in Minneapolis on February 8, 2005 at 10:05 AM (PDT)

3

We felt the same way, Instantpop, about the 4G skins... See our earlier review, and our review today of the SkinTight Armband. Our impression is that the 4G Speck skin was sized for the 20GB iPod and only -supposed- to fit the 40GB one.

The ToughSkin is much better. Much.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 8, 2005 at 3:19 PM (PDT)

4

I just got an Ipod Photo, been trying to get a skin. I haven't seen this product yet. But the flip up lid protector concerns me as Izon said. I wouldn't have it clipped there at all because it seems to be in the way to the user. I like the ruggedness but the design certainly seems to take away the elegance from Apple's products.

Posted by micky du in sydney on February 8, 2005 at 5:20 PM (PDT)

5

There is no issue with the flip-open lid portion. Definitely not in the user's way at all.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on February 8, 2005 at 5:50 PM (PDT)

6

I have an alternative to some people that sit and the belt clip pushed by the clothes, and fall down like happened a lot with my cellular, untill i lost it! So, the solution, put a large bobbypin on the rail that depress the pushbutton, and you won't lost or detach when you sit down, its safe and costless. For that nice ipod case, the only problem is the open cover of the click the whell that looks at a toilet seat cover! LOL. But i would prefer to buy this very protective and nice case WITH a screen protector that can be applied and throw away this toilet seat cover! It seams to be a very protective and solid clip.

Posted by angelito in Qu├ębec, Canada on February 8, 2005 at 8:09 PM (PDT)

7

There were no comments addressing whats looks to be an awkward situation when opening and using the protective plastic that guards the Click Wheel. It appears illogical to open the cover downwards when a more natural approach would be too either have the cover hinged on the left or the right (maybe even upwards). Other than that, and I know that I condone the iPod ProClip products because ProClip began as more of a commercial niche market, these bloody iPod products remind me of purchasing Harley-Davidson parts--more than a tad overpriced.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on February 8, 2005 at 8:58 PM (PDT)

8

i am guessing the problem with having the protective plastic open up would that it would then block people from reading the screen (from some angles).

Posted by Veasey in Cambridge, MA on February 9, 2005 at 11:44 AM (PDT)

9

Can the bottom hole accommodate the Belkin iPod auto charger (with audio out), or the PocketDock attachments?

I really wish all these skin reviews made those simple tests. A lot of us took a lot of trouble hard-wiring iPods to car systems and use such connectors, and it would be great to know if the bottom holes are big enough. I still can't understand why the makers can't comprehend that they need to make these holes a millimeter or two wider.

I got the Tunewear Icewear 4G, and I have to say I love it (probably not as bulky as this Speck and it looks sleeker), but unfortunately the bottom hole can't fit a PocketDock! It's unconscionable. I had to use a razor to widen the hole, but not it looks terrible, ruined. When will these makers learn? Why don't they pay attention to feedback?

Posted by user123 on February 10, 2005 at 10:58 AM (PDT)

10

Damn, I ordered a Contour Design Showcase for my 60GB Photo iPod before this review came out.

It looks exactly like what I was looking for: scratch and impact protection, looks good and with the added bonus of full protection for the controls.

Looks like I'll be spending more money on my little music player soon...

Posted by Jarvo in Hyogo-ken, Japan on February 15, 2005 at 3:22 PM (PDT)

11

There is no problem with the flip-lid on the click wheel. It opens all the way to lie down flat and does not get in the way. The case is attractive and looks extremely protective. The opening on the dock port seems large enough for most attachments.

Posted by Fuzznfangs on February 16, 2005 at 4:36 PM (PDT)

12

I've gone to the speck website to find out where I can buy this great sounding product and went to all the stores in my area that are listed as re-sellers of their products. None of the stores either had this new product on order or had ever heard of the "tough skin". As you can imagine, it's become a bit frustrating. Does anyone know where I can find this product at the cheapest price as I don't even care what color I end up with as I just want to obtain thone before I leave on a real long business trip.

Thanks,

Steve

Posted by findthesun on February 21, 2005 at 5:24 AM (PDT)

13

I have the frosted clear version,as reviewd. I really do like it. Had to widen the top opening somewhat in order to make it fit the iTrip, however. The width of the iTrip made seating the unit on the top of my 40 GB 4G iPod impossible until some of the material was removed. Cutting some of the material away solved the problem, and the surgery was relatively minor. Otherwise, like the case very much.

MEI

Posted by MiddleEarthIpod on February 27, 2005 at 7:22 PM (PDT)

14

I also have an iTrip and the Toughskin clear. I like the case, although it won't fit in the dock any more and I had to trim the top of the case with an exactoknife. Easy to do, very protective. The click wheel cover is easily removed if it bugs you too.

Posted by Mad Hermit in Canada on March 3, 2005 at 2:00 PM (PDT)

15

So, are you supposed to just stuff the iPod through the top opening? I apologize if this question is stupid but I just got this case and I don't want to break it. Thanks.

Posted by BDron on March 5, 2005 at 8:40 AM (PDT)

16

Not a stupid question -- that is exactly what you are expected to do. It is not something you will want to do often.

Posted by Dr. Lucius Guardian on March 9, 2005 at 12:37 PM (PDT)

17

this is a great case. It doesnt make the Ipod that much bigger which originally was a concern for me. Im not one of those clip to your belt or pants cell phone people and it still fits in my pocket. My Itrip and Airplay fit into the top with some minor surgery. The protective flip wheel is great and I feel like it could take a fall if it fell from my hands.

Posted by Goodlovin in chicago on March 17, 2005 at 7:28 AM (PDT)

18

This case looks great -- I like the ruggedness, and the rugged looks. I do have a question for those more experienced than I am with iPods.

People above talk about connecting the iPod to the dock. I was considering one of the cases with a flap on the bottom that would allow easy access to the dock, but I am having a hard time seeing how the iPod would fit in my dock with this case on it.

I don't own a case yet, but even without a case at all, it seems like my iPod (40GB, 4th gen.) barely squeezes in the iPod dock.

Do these messages refer to the iPod dock connector cable as opposed to the actual stand up dock? Even a quick look at this doesn't make me think it would fit in.

One other thing. Does anyone else think this case would look great in a sports yellow color?

Posted by tunetown on April 2, 2005 at 2:04 PM (PDT)

19

I ALSO have an iTrip and the Tough Skin Clear. I don't particularly want to trim away the top. Any thoughts of what would happen if I just pull the top down a bit each time I want to use the iTrip? Would the Tough Skin Stretch out and become useless after awhile?

Posted by hshiau on April 10, 2005 at 3:45 PM (PDT)

20

the wheel cover is removeable, right? If you didn't like it, you could always take it off, correct?

Posted by rainier90 on April 12, 2005 at 4:58 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.