STM Cocoon case | iLounge

Reviews

41

hey I've had my cocoon for about a month, things are fine no probs, great outer case that is going to keep my 4G pod nice and safe for my europe trip and beyond.

Couple of thoughts though:

1. before I shelled out the dosh, I rang STM who told me that they would be more than happy to send out a free 4th gen inner to the shop I bought the cocoon from originally, as this was my major misgiving about buying the product. Havent heard anything more from them about this; has anyone else run into the same prob/issue?

2. I gots to thinking, and (it hurts it hurts make it stop!) and thought, why not get a proper iskin and sew the velcro piece on to the back of it, thus rendering it useable with the case. Any ideas as to whether this will work or not, or any other ideas along the same lines?

'Part from that, I've got no complaints, and it beats shelling out double the price for the Matias 3G armour...

Posted by timelord on September 14, 2004 at 6:38 AM (PDT)

42

hmm sounds great, I think I'll grab myself one tomorrow. And the good thing about it is that it's in Aussie shops... one's only 10 mins away from where I am... no more going on bloody US sites and ordering it through US stores, then paying an incredibly high postage and handling fee... now its the American people who will have to do what I've been doing whenever I want a good product...

Posted by Me on September 20, 2004 at 1:14 AM (PDT)

43

Gabi

Just got sent my 4G skin in the mail (MASSIVE THANKS TO STM WHO CAME THROUGH WITH THE GOODZ AS PROMISED...VERY IMPRESSED!) and there is no change in material or design, apart from obviously only having the scroll wheel part open.

Plus I totallly agree about the bottom hole. Git rid of it already!

Posted by timelord on October 3, 2004 at 11:43 AM (PDT)

44

hey is ths case avalable in london?????????

Posted by fahad on October 19, 2004 at 6:21 AM (PDT)

45

HandStands, the people who make the iGrip, have also come out with a similar product. It's available here:

http://www.handstands.com/retail/computer/ipak.shtml

Posted by jadehsn on November 20, 2004 at 8:35 AM (PDT)

46

I broke the zip on mine the 10th time I used it. Waiting for a replacement from STM.

Current Music: Hilltop Hoods, "The Calling"

Posted by Audio|Phile in Australia on December 14, 2004 at 5:02 AM (PDT)

47

STM sent me out a brand new case, no fuss. Good customer service.

Current Music: Dirty Three, "Horse Stories"

Posted by Audio|Phile in Australia on December 16, 2004 at 4:00 PM (PDT)

48

Got my Cocoon from iPod Xtras. Great service, fast delivery, and the case is great. I use it with my evo2 skin-covered iPod. The black skin inside this case looks cool and works great. Of course, using it this way means I don't have the velcro attachment, but I prefer it like this... it's easier to take out.

Posted by tjs on January 12, 2005 at 11:17 AM (PDT)

49

check out the mini version of the cocoon for the ipod mini:

http://www.rushfaster.com.au/product.php?id=DP-2117-1&category=IPOD&subcategory=IPOD

So cute.

Posted by alittlecubicle in Australia on January 28, 2005 at 8:03 PM (PDT)

50

I bought this case recently, received it yesterday. Today is the first day I get to play with it.

First, some background: I am a new owner of an iPod 4G 20 MB. And the first things I knew I wanted right away were the Dock, a Case, and some upgraded head phones.

I got the Apple Dock; not much choice there (that I know of anyway). As far as the case and head phones though, that was a differently story. I eventually bought the STM Cocoon and the Sony MDR-EX81SL headphones. For my purposes here, I'll write a little about the STM Cocoon.

I was VERY picky about buying a case. I bought a skin (eXo iSkin) but I returned it because I didn't like the feel or level of protection. I wanted something I could put my iPod in that would be protective enough to let me toss my iPod in my targus bag, but without the big footprint and letting me clip the ipod to my shorts when doing chores (laundry, dishes, etc.). I researched several cases (thanks for all the great material, iPod Lounge!) and I finally settled on the STM (I also looked at Agent 18 Shield and Handstands iPak).

And I have to tell you I am very happy with the STM case. It was exactly what I was looking for: small, sturdy case with openings for headphones/firewire cable and a belt clip. Despite the openings, I feel my iPod is safe in my bag, because of the soft hardshell. And the inner sheathe was perfect as a skin, for putting the iPod in my pocket or something like that. So I can use it in or out of the Cocoon with the skin- great touch. The inner skin has an ugly white velcro, so it's not fashinable. But as for me, I am practical as they come. The STM doesn't look that bad as it is.

So, take it from a very picky iPod owner who wanted nothing but the perfect case: STM Cocoon worked great. Sounds like an infomercial, I know... my motivation is simple, though: I want to share my experience with other iPod owners, so that they can make a better choice.

Posted by Daniel-the-iPod-Freak in Reston, Virginia, USA on February 22, 2005 at 8:50 AM (PDT)

51

This is a really really poor case! I can't believe the good review it got. It's way too fat, it scratches easily (the top surface comes off), it's open at the top and allows dirt in (as reviewer stated) but, most importantly, the belt clip does not work! I have had it fall off my belt twice in just a couple of wearings. I've wearing Palm, cell phones, and BlackBerrys on my belt for years and never had this issue. What a waste of money...

Posted by kalahari in USA on March 17, 2005 at 3:41 PM (PDT)

52

Only one thing wrong with this case: Belt clip. It appears to be a cheaply made part. STM would do well to source a different type - something much sturdier, maybe metal.
First, the pin that held mine together fell out. No problem; I superglued it back in and everything was fine. But next, I had it clipped on and, while picking something up, it got bumped and the part of the clip inside the case just snapped. Again it went flying.
The rest of the case appears well made.

Posted by aardvark3 on April 9, 2005 at 1:54 PM (PDT)

Page 3 of 3 pages  <  1 2 3

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.