Tekkeon myPower Battery Pack | iLounge

Reviews

1

Wow, first battery solution for power users who need extended battery life AND pass through access to the dock features!

Posted by mikemac on November 8, 2004 at 6:50 PM (PDT)

2

these things are still HUGE!!!!! Hey lets put a big brick in your pocket... WOOHOO. Might as well tote around the powerbrick. I'd rather replace my internal battery with a more powerful one. Like a 2300 MaH Li-Polymer battery. That way- no size increase. They can be had for under 30 bucks too!

Posted by apple juice in USA on November 9, 2004 at 5:12 AM (PDT)

3

Yuck, this thing makes iPod look big and boring (like a huge chunk of white plastic), not what I want for my iPod.

Posted by podlover in Detroit on November 19, 2004 at 2:51 AM (PDT)

4

Good review. This looks like the one I'd want as the port and audio out features are cool. In your review, the 1" section at the bottom is mentioned several times as a detractor but it should be noted that BTIs unit has the fire wire connector sticking out the bottom to the tune of almost an inch. The firewire connection certainly looks more vulnerable as compared to Tekkeon's solution. I'll also add the the Tekkeon device, to my eye, looks more elegant and integrated and less like an after thought. All of these devices are a pain compared to (if it were made) a high capacity iPod. If only Apple offered a a hi-cap version.

Posted by corndog on November 20, 2004 at 11:24 AM (PDT)

5

Pardon my possible ignorance, but if it has a USB and FW connectors how can the Belkin Media Reader connect to it as it uses an iPod dock connector? Or is there a converter cable available?

Thx

Posted by tomartinh on December 14, 2004 at 6:30 AM (PDT)

6

Pardon my ignorance as well, But does anyone know if, by using a Compact Flash card reader (USB 2.0) plugged into the USB port of the mypower, could digital photos which were saved on a compact flash card be transferred directly onto the ipod?

Thanks

Posted by wengenfeffer in boulder, co on December 14, 2004 at 11:28 PM (PDT)

7

Avoid this product. It is so cheaply constructed that the line out plug has really poor contact with the jack. The sound gets disrupted at the slightest touch ! I thought I had a defective product but the same problem after exchanging with a new one.

Posted by herry on December 28, 2004 at 12:36 PM (PDT)

8

was trying to decide between BTI's The iPod Battery ii and Tekkeon myPower Battery Pack. I like the extra features of the Tekkeon but it seems like BTI is the battery that is best.
Now if you combined BTI iPod battery with the extra features of the Tekkeon, you would have the exact product I want.

Posted by treeshark in Tidewater, Va on February 25, 2005 at 6:52 AM (PDT)

9

I was also trying to decide between BTI iPod Battery and the Tekkeon myPower Battery.

Is it me, or does the myPower seem better designed. The dock connector is integrated into the battery and you do not have the cord hanging down like it is on the iPod Battery? My main beef with my 4G iPod is that I have to charge it just about every day. 32 hours seems like enough charge time to keep me going for a few days of commuting.

Posted by MFW_iPod in SF CA on March 15, 2005 at 11:36 AM (PDT)

10

Any further comments on the poor quality of the line out plug? I'd buy one of these but one of the plus' for me is the line out for my amp. If this problem hasn't been corrected I'll have to look elsewhere.

Posted by Reiki on October 16, 2005 at 7:30 PM (PDT)

11

This really is a well made product -- but because of it's size, probably best for air travel use. It does have 2 rather annoying design flaws that I'm surprised about. The company apparently assumes you will use their product w/o a case, as the ipod plugs in securely w/o any cdase on. If your case is even as think at the bottom as the Agent 18, you have to hold the ipod tightly on the connector continuously, or the connection is lost. Also, Agent 18 is about the only case thin enough to fit against the back.

Posted by MPLB on August 17, 2006 at 10:19 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.