TEN Technology flexibleDock Adjustable Car Dock and Charger for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

This looks like just what I need as my plug in located below the cup holders (stupid design!). I'm wondering if I can use with my iTrip or will that add too much weight?

Posted by Sharon Faulk on November 26, 2005 at 3:16 PM (PDT)

2

this looks like an excellent design, but concerning the color, i think it would have been better if they were decisive about the color (either going black or white) it would be much more appealing. (hey, an option of both colors would be nice too)

rk

Posted by twirk88 in Florida on November 26, 2005 at 10:08 PM (PDT)

3

What about ipods in cases? Do you need to remove the case before you can properly fit the ipod into the dock? This is especially a concern for my iskin, as it's really not the most dock friendly case out there. Any info would be appreciated.

Posted by biollante879 on November 27, 2005 at 1:00 PM (PDT)

4

We tested a meaty 60GB color 4G iPod with a top-attached iTrip; no problem.

Re: cases, the best solution for an iSkin case is the ProClip mount mentioned in the review above. The bottom of flexibleDock is not meant to accommodate any additional silicone thickness, while the ProClip mount (at a significantly higher total cost) can accommodate virtually any encased iPod.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on November 27, 2005 at 5:12 PM (PDT)

5

It looks a bit like the my old (real old) PowerBook SCSI Apple adapter cable. I much prefer the ProClip system of mounting an iPod as it cradles the iPod whereas these systems run the risk of adding an undue amount of physical strain (not electrical) on the power outlet and I am not so sure that vehicle manufacturers have designed said outlets accordingly. Thankfully, the outlets are fused for shorting protection, but until I start reading vehicle brochures that state they have reinforced power outlets for such purposes I am not purchasing this type of mount. Another of my concerns is the "perched" iPod atop said mount. I am sure that my iPod would eventually go flying onto a floor mat or seat after I inadvertently knocked it off for one reason or another.

Posted by FahrenheiPod 451 on November 27, 2005 at 11:59 PM (PDT)

6

I don't like taking my iPod out of it's case. It seems to cause scratching along the sides, but I like using it in my car. Wouldn't something like the FlexPed from ThoughtOut.biz work better since with this you would have to buy that "ProClip mount (at a significantly higher total cost)" to get it to work?

This seems like a good dock, but I've already got a car charger that outputs to a line out to my deck.

I also don't like my iPod being held on by the dock connector alone. Some sort of support would be nice besides a cheap plastic half circle in the back. I have a feeling that people are going to get upset b/c their iPod fell out.

Posted by Nick Starr on November 28, 2005 at 9:42 AM (PDT)

7

Thanks for the info. I think this my be my xmas gift to myself. wink

Posted by Sharon Faulk on November 29, 2005 at 5:35 AM (PDT)

8

Did this unit seem to get the iPod close enough to the driver for easy use in the Honda Element? It looked a little far away from the driver in the picture.

Posted by blackomega on November 29, 2005 at 6:23 PM (PDT)

9

I would like to see a version of this that acts as an FM transmitter on par with the NewerTech RoadTrip+. For those of us with neither a cassette deck nor a line-in, such a product would be ideal!

Posted by sjonke in Maryland, US on November 30, 2005 at 7:35 AM (PDT)

10

I have an element and it doesn't look like it can bend far enough to be within reach of me when I drive, unless you think six inches will bring it closer to the radio stack, or the shifter. I really like this, hopefully it's not too dangerous.

Posted by imkeww on November 30, 2005 at 10:42 PM (PDT)

11

One thing concerns me with these all-in-one output and charger devices - you're always charging your iPod. So, you take it out of the house and it's 80% full, you put it in, drive 10 mins and it charges it to 90%, whereby you take it out.
Historically charging for short periods has not been good for batteries. I would have thought it would be good to be able to only use the power when you needed it.
Any views on this iLounge?

And also, the Proclip stuff looks neat, but even the adjustable is not realtime adjustable is it? So if you alternate between a nano and full-size iPod for instance (his'n'hers) then it won't work. It would be useful for iLounge to consider multi-iPod family units! Otherwise keep up the great work.

Posted by lintonmac on December 1, 2005 at 1:33 AM (PDT)

12

Does anyone know where to buy this elusive product?

Ten Technology products are not often carried by the big box stores.

I'd prefer to buy this from an actual physical store to ensure an easier return should it not fit my car well or work to my satisfaction.

Posted by darex on December 1, 2005 at 2:40 PM (PDT)

13

Response from Ten Technology a few days ago when I asked about purchasing:

"Thank you for your request.

We apologize for the difficulty in finding our new flexibleDock for sale.
Unfortunately, we have no control over how and when our distributors sell our
products. Therefore, we are unable to inform you when it will be available on
their websites. We have indeed sent out shipment to Apple Stores over a week
ago. We are working with Apple regarding this issue, and we hope the product
will be available to you really soon. Dr. Bott also has a new shipment on
its way. Walmart has also purchased flexibleDock from us but it does not
seem to be available in their online store. Please check back their sites for
availability.

Thank you."

Posted by monohombre on December 2, 2005 at 12:34 PM (PDT)

14

So from what I gather from the review, the flexibledock can hold a full sized iPod securetly. However, wouldn't this put a lot of strain on the iPod's docking port? Could this cause damage to the little latches in the docking port in the long run? The reason I'm concerned is because I have a 60gb iPod and I'm a little weary of its entire weight being supported by a couple of small hooks in its docking port.

Posted by webHead in Vancouver, British Columbia on December 3, 2005 at 7:45 PM (PDT)

15

Hello! I am a female and a 1st time ipod owner. I don't have a cassette player in my 2000 Honda Accord EX. Where is this "line in-port" Thing?

Thank you

Black Beauty

Posted by Black Beauty on December 4, 2005 at 9:36 PM (PDT)

16

BB - your accord's stereo doesn't have a line in. few do. most replacement stereos don't have them either (at least not conveniently in the front). im looking at a jvc one just coz it does.

Posted by mugtastic on December 6, 2005 at 3:03 PM (PDT)

17

ok, ran out and bought this thing. It's very well made and holds the ipod securely. The problem I'm having with my ipod (60g 5th gen)is that the plug comes out at least once on the way to work (12 miles). I'm using the rubber o ring, but the plug still works its way out.

Posted by Dave Marcus on December 8, 2005 at 8:37 AM (PDT)

18

Perhaps it's just bad luck, but the Flexdock I bought to use with my 20-gig Color iPod DOES NOT WORK AT ALL.

1) My iPod will not "click in" to the flexdock (my iPod DOES click into other dock-connector devices).

2) I hear a LOT of (what I'd call LOUD) hard drive noise and other CONTINUOUS static coming thru the speakers in my car, even with my car OFF and sitting still in the driveway...I'd only imagine the static will increase as I move down the road and the cig lighter plug jiggles around a bit in the cig lighter socket.

A very very poor product.

Posted by wsalopek on December 22, 2005 at 4:38 PM (PDT)

19

I have a line-out coming from my CD player which I've used to plug into the headphone jack of my 60GB ipod Video. It's always worked fine, and the audio quality is good.

However, I just purchased the flexibleDock and can't get the audio to work correctly. When I plug my CD player's line-out into the flexibleDock's Audio Output port sound ONLY comes from the right speaker on the passengers side. Even after playing with my CD player's balance settings (aka putting all the audio on the left speaker) I can't fix the problem. But when I plug my CD player's audio into the headphone jack of my ipod everything sounds fine. So what's the deal? Anyone else had this problem? Do I have a defective unit?

It seams almost like my flexibleDock's audio output port is transmitting the signal in mono. I've also tried both the audio output level settings on the flexibleDock too, but that didn't change anything other than the increase/decrease the volume.

Posted by jamsoft on December 26, 2005 at 12:06 AM (PDT)

20

Can a 5G ipod connect to this in an Iskin Evo 3 case, considering it will fit the Apple universal dock? Will the Flexdeck solution give me better sound than through the headphone jack?

Posted by nsiebenmor on December 26, 2005 at 3:26 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.