TEN Technology naviPod | iLounge

Reviews

1

I would like a device that makes the iPod a remote. The device would be, in effect a wireless dock. There would be something that plugs into the top of the iPod, (like the naviPod, however, the iPod would transmit the audio signal to the dock which would then be hooked up to a stereo. It would be best if it was Bluetooth, so it wasn't interrupted by objects, like an IR beam, but infrared would also be fine.

Posted by Benjamin Goldenberg on July 17, 2003 at 8:01 AM (PDT)

2

Add a dock with video out capabilities and you've got an awesome home theatre music player. Hopefully some of those extraneous pins on the 3rd gens are exactly for this purpose.

Posted by Cardanine on July 17, 2003 at 10:00 AM (PDT)

3

A wireless remote without wireless headphones and without a display to help you navigate is about as much use as Stevie Wonder's plasma TV (no offence but really).

Posted by mintcake on July 17, 2003 at 9:31 PM (PDT)

4

Im waiting for this to come out. I like the design better. can't wait to see what the reciever looks like.

RemoteRemote
http://www.engineeredaudio.com/products/remote.html

Posted by emikey on July 18, 2003 at 6:08 PM (PDT)

5

There is a 3D graphic of the RemoteRemote reciever here:
http://www.engineeredaudio.com/faqs/receiver.html

Posted by Dennis Lloyd in Irvine, CA on July 19, 2003 at 5:30 AM (PDT)

6

Dear Dennis,

I'd like to thank you for your detailed and thoughtful review of our naviPod product. Though you gave a fair review of the product's functionality, we were disappointed that you proclaimed the utility of our product as not worthwhile based on your highly personal preferences and habits.

Though your longing for remote navigation of the iPod menus is a valid desire, your application of this need to our product shows a misunderstanding of the naviPod's utility. Like the remote control for typical stereo component CD players or changers, for example, the naviPod offers convenient ability to skip a song you don't want to hear at the moment, repeat a song that's just ended, or simply crank up the volume of a song you really like to hear. If the phone rings, you can quickly turn down the volume without rushing over to the iPod to delicately move your finger around the touchwheel. In just these few examples, one does not need to look at the display on the iPod to benefit from the utility of the naviPod. These are the simple conveniences the naviPod brings for those who wish to enjoy their extensive iPod library through external speakers. If you want to share your iPod music with others, what better way than to connect it to speakers - and temporarily transform it from a handheld device to a stereo component.

We, too, have wished to remotely navigate the iPod menus and have developed some of the technology necessary to do this. But, we must wait for Apple to implement and release changes in the iPod's firmware to enable these features. In fact, we have already built-in many navigation commands into the naviPod receiver - but, unless we expect users to hack the iPod firmware themselves - no amount of effort by any company other than Apple will bring forth the functionality you desire - remotely navigating the iPod's menu and playlists.

We hope you can see that despite your personal user habits, the naviPod has merits for many other iPod users with different personal habits.

Respectfully,

John Lin
CEO, TEN Technology

Posted by John Lin on July 25, 2003 at 1:20 PM (PDT)

7

Seems cool. I'd end up losing it though.
Its also way to expensive ot even consider. 75$ (CDN) - Ouch!

Bring the price way down, and ill buy it. I can purchase 150 blank Cd-r for the same price. damn.

Posted by Stasyna on July 31, 2003 at 5:48 PM (PDT)

8

I quite often hook up my iPod to my surround sound system, and even though I have 774 songs on it, I know the playlists off by heart. I can't help but wonder how Dennis was able to listen to music back when there were no mp3 players. What did he do? Carry the cover to each CD around so that he would know which songs were playing? Bah! Not as passionate as most about his music I'd say. I'd have to say that I'm on John Lin's side this time. I have longed for a remote for quite awhile, and personally, I'd do anything to spare getting up every time, walking over to the iPod, bending down and pressing the foreward button, just to skip a track. This is a definite buy for me.

Posted by rxan on August 3, 2003 at 2:11 PM (PDT)

9

Isn't it freaky that almost every review on this site has someone 'very high up in the company' posting his opinion on the review? Don't they have better things to do, like RUN A COMPANY?

Posted by Lorcan on August 8, 2003 at 1:52 PM (PDT)

10

Monitoring reviews and comments on our company's products is part of running the company. Don't you feel better that the company cares about it's customers and their opinions. Or would you rather that the management sit in meetings all day long or just go play golf?

Don't you feel empowered that people very high up in the company are listening to you?

Posted by John Lin on August 9, 2003 at 10:36 AM (PDT)

11

FWIW, John, I appreciate your presence here. I wish more product developers would do the same.

BTW, I see little need to navigate menus wirelessly. What's the point if you can't see the 1.75" screen from across the room anyway?

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on August 10, 2003 at 8:14 PM (PDT)

12

Rather than connecting your ipod to your stereo with a wire, connect a fm transmitter to the ipod and place it beside your comfy sofa within easy reading distance. I use this method with the wired remote with good results. The Radio Shack fm transmitter uses two aaa batteries which last several hours.

Posted by kleo on August 11, 2003 at 1:27 AM (PDT)

13

This is going to sound bizarre (maybe it won't..) but if you had this device set up and was, lets say, carrying it in a bag or inside coat pocket...will the remote control work through?

Seems like a bargain if its possible...if so, I have been waiting for something like this for absolute ages...

Sincerly,
Parv

Posted by Parvez Hakim on August 17, 2003 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

14

No, Parvez... Unfortunately not.

What you seem to be asking for is a radio (RF) based remote.

The Navipod is Infrared (IR) based, and thus requires line-of-sight.

Posted by azdude_15gb on August 17, 2003 at 5:07 PM (PDT)

15

My review...
Just to let you guys know I purchased the naviPod recently and I have to say its pretty cool for what it is intended for. I give it an 8 (from 1 to 10). The only thing I took a chance with was my iSee case that I have with my 2nd generation iPod. I pretty much sanded off the top case to leave my iPod expose for the naviPod while still keeping some protection on the rest of my pod.
THe only thing I wish the naviPod had was access to allow the backlight to go on so I can see what song is playing at night. I mainly purchased it for my car so i can pause and change songs while I drive without having to stretch accross the dash and loose sight of the road.
That's my review...

Posted by DJ JASMAN on August 18, 2003 at 3:46 PM (PDT)

16

If you are keeping your iPod charged with an auto adapter, you can set the backlight to stay on constantly - or else something like 5 or 10 seconds.

From the iPod's main or top level menu -> Settings -> Backlight Timer

The backlight should come on whenever the remote sends any kind of command - even a volume up or down will trigger the backlight to come on for however long you set it in the iPod's settings.

If you just touch the volume up and then down, the volume change should barely be noticeable and the backlight will come on.

Posted by John Lin on August 18, 2003 at 4:38 PM (PDT)

17

One reason I will buy this remote control system: If I am going to sleep, I choose a playlist or an album before I go to bed, but my ipod is not near the bed but on my stereo. Since radio transmitters for the ipod seem to seriously limit the sound quality, I prefer it that way.
If I want to watch some tv before going to sleep, I have to stand up from the bed and turn on the ipod when it's time to sleep, or I have to let it run and un-mute the stereo.

I don't have to say here that a remote is so much more convenient and supports my late-evening lazyness. It's a luxury, but the ipod itself is, too. I just don't like IR so much, radio is more convenient...

John, I think it's nice you are listening and answering to customers in this way. Is there a reason everybody is using IR in remotes besides maybe a little more power consumption of radio?
If I understood you right, you are waiting for apple to ready the ipod firmware for a remote with a display and the controls of the ipod? This would be extremely cool...

Posted by Mat on September 25, 2003 at 5:31 AM (PDT)

18

The biggest strength of RF is also it's biggest weaknest. Yes, it will penetrate through everything - but that also means that if your neighbor has the same remote (especially if you live in an apartment or dorm, or in an office building) then your iPod is going to respond to his remote - and there's nothing you can do about it - short of lining your place with RF shielding. That is why televisions and VCRs and stereo receivers all use IR - you don't get interference from your neighbors.

That being said, there are more sophisticated RF technologies that more or less avoid unintended signals - like your cell phone and Bluetooth. With the added sophistication (privacy, encryption, pairing) comes cost.

Yes, IR is "old" technology - but it is proven and relatively reliable - and the range may impress you. We've tested IR to 40+ feet indoors, and the signal can be bounced off ceilings and walls, and can penetrate some fabrics.

But for two way communication - e.g. a remote control with a display, something like Bluetooth will probably be the better way.

Posted by John Lin on September 25, 2003 at 8:11 AM (PDT)

19

DON'T GET IT! I bought one for 80$ CDN and the first one I tried didn't work! I took it back to the dealer and we tried another one, and this time it worked. However.. I wanted to place my iPod in my bag and use the remote to change songs and such without going into my bag. The problem was, the remote was not able to go through my backpack! My backpack is a DaKine backpack, like a normal school backpack! It wouldn't go through the material, even though I pointed it 5 in. away from the iPod and receiver, straight at it! The receiver needed to be in plain sight to be "active". I ended up getting the regular remote, works for me but I'm kind of annoyed about the plug, if it's not fully in, the remote won't work. Until a better remote comes out though, this will have to do. Just don't get the NaviPod! Trust me, I've had first hand experience with it, and it was not pretty!

Posted by Ken on October 3, 2003 at 11:46 PM (PDT)

20

DON'T GET IT! I bought one for 80$ CDN and the first one I tried didn't work! I took it back to the dealer and we tried another one, and this time it worked. However.. I wanted to place my iPod in my bag and use the remote to change songs and such without going into my bag. The problem was, the remote was not able to go through my backpack! My backpack is a DaKine backpack, like a normal school backpack! It wouldn't go through the material, even though I pointed it 5 in. away from the iPod and receiver, straight at it! The receiver needed to be in plain sight to be "active". I ended up getting the regular remote, works for me but I'm kind of annoyed about the plug, if it's not fully in, the remote won't work. Until a better remote comes out though, this will have to do. Just don't get the NaviPod! Trust me, I've had first hand experience with it, and it was not pretty!

Posted by Ken Lee on October 3, 2003 at 11:46 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 3 pages  1 2 3 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.