Timbuk2 iPod Case | iLounge

Reviews

1

I got this case sometime ago, it works great with my messenger bag when I am ridin my bike around town. It does suck you have to remove the headphones to get your ipod out, but it holds the ipod safe and secure. Plus you can get it in every color to match your Timbuk2 bag.

Posted by ChillinWY in USA on January 2, 2005 at 10:43 AM (PDT)

2

I can still manipulate the FF/RW buttons. To remove the Ipod I have to pull the headphones to pause the music anyway. I have another set of headphones that have a 90 degree angle on the plug that fit better under the cover flap. I like that it is soft and it fits sideways on my belt so I can hardly notice it is there.

Posted by chiefluis in RI on January 3, 2005 at 6:52 AM (PDT)

3

I picked up one of these at CompUSA. It's exactly what I was looking for!

Posted by Galley in Greenville, SC on January 24, 2005 at 9:55 PM (PDT)

4

i like the snug feeling it gives my ipod, like its in a warm cozy sleeping bag. also, if you have an elph digital camera or a casio exilim, they are excellent cases for those as well.

Posted by vinny151 on January 29, 2005 at 1:30 PM (PDT)

5

I hated how you can;t work with any of the frickin controls!

Posted by Super Brick Dude on February 22, 2005 at 6:06 AM (PDT)

6

Timbuk2 makes some great products and this is no different. I don't think you'll find a more versatile case than this. Strap, belt, and you can even attach it to a sweat band for jogging. Pressing the controls through the case is handy especially since you have to unplug headphones to see the screen. I've mastered sticking my finger in to adjust the volume. Lets hope they fix the headphone problem for a flawless product.

Posted by WesTheYeTi in denver on February 28, 2005 at 1:05 PM (PDT)

7

Love it! Came here to look at reviews when I got my iPod to find a good case. I was looking for something that was in this vein, rugged and nylon, but functional. I should have known that Timbuk2 was making a case for these! I've had my messinger bag for 6 years now, bike commuting 50% of the time, and thier phone holster that I wear on my hip for 2 years now, and my only complaint is that neither look used! Yeah, the cord issue is kinda annoying, but I get around it by looping the cord back through the slot, it's a tight fit, and probably not good for the cord, but I can take the iPod out without pausing. Best part of this case is the extra pocket for the earbuds - brilliant! If you need to see the screen at all times, not for you, but if you're into the whole ballistic nylon / bombproof look and feel, this is the only option!

Posted by big_tex on May 23, 2005 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

8

timbuk2 doesn't make backpacks.

Posted by punkrockavocado in VA on June 7, 2005 at 5:58 PM (PDT)

9

yes they do. whats this:

Detour
Our three-in-one convertible BACKPACK with padded laptop compartment.

http://www.timbuk2.com/tb2/catalog/categories.t2?categoryId=9

Posted by srm1 on June 24, 2005 at 8:17 AM (PDT)

10

How did this get good reviews, no access to screen or controls and risk or damage to corners.. RETARDED!!

Posted by boxsterm911 on July 21, 2005 at 8:58 PM (PDT)

11

I've lived with one of these since February or so. It's the best case I've used.

There's no chance of damage to the corners. Sure, you can get a little peek of white if you're looking, but I'm not sure how that equates to corner damage. The main body of the case extends beyond the iPod.

I have a click wheel iPod and I can pause and skip songs easily when it's all buttoned up in the case. Changing the volume requires the iPod to be popped out but that's not something I do very often.

Advantages over my iSkin and Armor:
- Easy to take the iPod in and out. It's a better solution than the folding silicone cases if you use a dock.
- The belt clip rocks. Strap it on a shoulder strap, a belt, whatever. I've even used it to attach my iPod to the handlebars of my road bike for use on long rides. And unlike other cases, the clip isn't obtrusive when you're not using it.
- The pocket on the front takes headphones nicely. I've even stuck my iTrip in there once or twice. If you wanted more impact protection for the front, you could slip a piece of aluminum in there.
- If you use an iTrip or other transmitter, just open the top. The iPod stays snugly in its bag and you don't have any connection problems as you do with silicone cases.
- It doubles as a case for a Canon Elph digicam. Useful when you're on vacation.
- It's indestructible.

Problems:
- The headphone access is a bit of a pain.
- Orange is no longer available.
- Can't see the screen. Doesn't bother me, I don't need to see the screen when listening.

Since I got this, my other cases have just been gathering dust.

Posted by KeithT on August 24, 2005 at 3:51 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.