Ultimate Ears UE-10 Pro Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

I still don't get spending that kind of money. They'd better sound better than good for 900 bucks. What's up with comparing a "UE" to stuff in the $100 range? Hardly seems like "apples to apples."

WHY in an iPod unless your sample rate is over 192k. Way bigger files, but if you can afford the "UE," I guess you can go for the 40g iPod. Yea, they'd better do more than sound good -- even take me to the Bahamas for that kind of money (and I'll take my Sennheiser IE3s with my iPod, thank you).

And where would I keep that huge box with my iPod? I can see why they are giving them away.

3G

Posted by gizmogadgetguru on April 27, 2004 at 1:41 AM (PDT)

2

Is it me, or do some shots of the headphones look like they are camo? ^_^

Posted by Sam on April 27, 2004 at 2:20 AM (PDT)

3

Actually, you could probably put your ipod IN that huge box, not the other way around.
As for spending that kinda money... you're obviously not the target audience, so don't worry about it. Get a nice set of shures or er6s or even the sony 71s and they'll be more than enough to make you happy, in a different way than the sennheisers (those aren't canal phones, are they?)

Posted by JC on April 27, 2004 at 4:30 AM (PDT)

4

the only "$100 range" item in the article was the sub-$100 sonys, discussed only as a comfort reference... 3G you need to take some reading lessons.

btw do you carry the boxes for all your products around wherever you go? would you turn down a car you won in a contest because you can guess why they're giving the car away? you gotta be a troll if you gripe about the size of a friggin box and people running promotions.

Posted by frank on April 27, 2004 at 6:28 AM (PDT)

5

Regretably the author mentions several times his experience with the Sony Fontopia earspeakers, but does not provide any commentary about the sound of these compared with the UE-10. Please don't give me grief about comparing a $50 product with a $900 product - I'm interested in sound on this point not cost and would rather limit my spending if it gets me 95% there. I have the Sony's and the Etymotic's and find that overall the sound is preferrable with the Sony's though the bass is exagerated, something easily improved with the bass reducer setting on the iPod. The commonly presented view that the Etymotic's have very good mid and high frequency performance in my view stems largely from the fact that that is the only thing being reproduced. Please don't give me grief about using the iPod equalizer - I'm talking about sound here not audiophile dogma.

Posted by Mark Bailey on April 27, 2004 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

6

I would hope for something a bit more visually appealing for $900!

(More) seriously, though -- I recently picked up a pair of Sony white in-the-ear headphones (sorry, don't have No. handy) for about $50 and was stunned by how much better they were than the standard iPod ones. When I lose these I'll try something for $100 smile

Posted by Paolo on April 27, 2004 at 8:37 AM (PDT)

7

well, Paolo, it's hard to do visual appeal on something that's shaped like the inside of your ear... You're not supposed to see them anyway.

Posted by JC on April 27, 2004 at 8:49 AM (PDT)

8

The reviewer compares the UE-10 Pro earphones to the Etymotic ER-4, but not the Shure E5c.

From what I can tell, the UE-10 Pro is almost identical to the Shure E5c, with the exception that you're using custom ear molds as opposed to the standard interchangeable styles, and the fact that the UE-10 Pro has three drivers where the Shure E5c has two. I believe that you can get custom ear molds for the Shure E5c, so that leaves just the driver differences.

Could we get an updated review which is more comprehensive when compared against other higher-end earphones?

Posted by Brad Knowles in Brussels, Belgium on April 27, 2004 at 4:00 PM (PDT)

9

900 bux for some earfones? Whether I was the target of this product or not there is no way I would pay that much money for some freakin earfones! I am not rich but in no way poor either but I sure as heck aint stoopid! Everyone is tryin to make a buck off the iPod hype....

Posted by CoolerPod on April 27, 2004 at 4:15 PM (PDT)

10

If anybody wants to buy some great headphones, check out the sony MDR-D66SL "eggos"

I bought them, and I swear, its the best purchase / investment I have ever made.

Posted by david on April 27, 2004 at 6:08 PM (PDT)

11

I wear hearing aids everyday. I don't want to have to put on yet another set of molds just to listen to my iPod! smile

Posted by Cameron on April 27, 2004 at 9:10 PM (PDT)

12

" Everyone is tryin to make a buck off the iPod hype...."
What have these headphones got to do with iPod "hype"? I'm sure they've been around a lot longer than the hype, used by audio professionals..

Posted by Syph on April 28, 2004 at 8:22 AM (PDT)

13

Yeah, I don't think I'll be spending 900 Washingtons just to look like i have a hearing problem. Besides that, unless a piece of technology can actually 1) get me drunk or high, 2) undress women or 3) inflict pain on my enemies, I can't justify spending it.

Posted by Florentino Ariza on April 28, 2004 at 8:52 AM (PDT)

14

florentino, you are a man of true words.

Well spoken.

Posted by david on April 28, 2004 at 1:44 PM (PDT)

15

These IEM's were originally designed for performers, sound engineers and other professionals. Since they produce sound very accurately it was only natural that they could be used for mp3 players.

There will always be those that have the financial resources to afford the things they want. There will always be those that rationalize their own inability to purchase a premium item by saying its not worth the money. An item has value because someone is willing to pay a certain price for it regardless of whether that value is real or perceived.

As an owner of countless IEM's I can tell you that the UE-10's are worth every penny they cost. For those of you that can't afford the best....work harder. For those that can, any of the products from Ultimate EArs will serve you very well for many years to come.

Posted by HRA on April 28, 2004 at 2:51 PM (PDT)

16

i wonder weather actual iPod users purchase and use these...or is the main target, a high end preformer or a matt lauer for the press....

any iPod loungers actualyl own them...i thought i was crazy for my $143 shure e3c's....but i love um...

Posted by rivlinm on May 7, 2004 at 2:47 PM (PDT)

17

Its crap i get Philips ultra thin diagram earphones for 30 bux and i dont wanna look like a deaf bum people who buy this.. go to hell because your stupid enough to spen 900 bux on some crappy looking earphones?!?!? wth ... get something bettter for 100 bux or something...

Posted by Crap on May 13, 2004 at 2:18 AM (PDT)

18

Судя по всему многоуважаемый Crap трахоебнутаямудоблять с низким достатоком, и с еще более низким интеллектом. Таких людей необходимо жалеть и держать подальше от компьютера.

Posted by РэдЪ on May 15, 2004 at 9:13 AM (PDT)

19

HI everybody! Like Yale, I have a dilemma. I'm interested in either getting the Shure E3c earphones, or the Etymotic ER-6 earphones. Does anyone (who either knows a great amount about the two or has either the two) have a suggestion? They're a bit expensive and I want to make the Best decistion instead of a costly one. By the way, I'm a big bass fan and I've noticed that a couple of the reviews had negative remarks about the E3c's. Please feel free to email me. Thanks a whole lot!

John

Posted by John on June 12, 2004 at 7:58 AM (PDT)

20

man, you damn stupid to buy 900 bucks of headphones. Just buy the bose triport headphones. Good quality sound especially for the ipod.

Posted by johnny on October 17, 2004 at 9:52 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.