Ultimate Ears UE5c Custom Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

EU5C, um name sounds a lot like E5C from Shure. ARe they better than E5Cs i wonder ?

Posted by splodge on October 31, 2003 at 7:03 AM (PDT)

2

This would be great to have done at the genius bar in an apple store. You walk in get your custom earphone for you new iPod. I don't know if I would pay $500 bucks though.

Posted by pixelsampler on October 31, 2003 at 9:32 AM (PDT)

3

Are they white?

Posted by KenC on October 31, 2003 at 4:00 PM (PDT)

4

What other inear/canal phones or headphones did you compare them with? How do they compare with the Etymotics ER4S?

Posted by Cans on October 31, 2003 at 11:59 PM (PDT)

5

Or the ER4P's for that matter that are supposed to give more low end - and I think they are $200 cheaper!
Reviews I have read for these phones suggest that they are the puppies privates, its hard to imagine the EU5C's could be $200 better!

Posted by nobby on November 1, 2003 at 8:25 AM (PDT)

6

well... i own the etymotic er-6s (er-4's little brother, ~100 used) and even they are incredibly detailed. seperation like you cannot believe. ive heard that the higher level etys offer even more instrument seperation. as a general rule in headphones - the higher you go in price, the less the sound quality changes. i doubt these are much better than the er-4s. also, the er-4s are more accurate than the er-4p. the er-4p is the with version designed to be used with a portable because of their lower impedance. they have more bass directly out of the ipod because they are easier to drive. amped, the er-4s will provide much tighter and more accurate bass.

Posted by ben on November 1, 2003 at 7:39 PM (PDT)

7

Hi everyone,

I just want to answer a few of your questions regarding the UE5c

1. Yes they are available in white,clear, fleshtone and neon colors.

2. The UE5c earpiece is a dual driver 2 way design when compared to the ER4p the UE5c has much more headroom in the bass region and has a very accurate mid and hi response.The major difference is the ER4p has a single driver reproducing the entire frequency response which results in saturation or distortion in the low frequencies much before the UE5c.The UE5c has 1 driver for lows and 1 for the highs and a passive crossover in each earpiece. They are two completely different animals.

3. As far as the comparison between the Shure E5c and the Ultimate Ears UE5c. Ultimate Ears developed the 1st 2 way professional personal monitor in 1995.This precedes the Shure E5c by 2 years. The Shure E5c has the low and high driver terminating into one sound bore which results in compression in the frequencies above 5k. The UE5c has separate sound bores for both the low and the high drivers which results in a much wider frequency response.


4. Ultimate Ears are only available custom fit

Jerry Harvey
Ultimate Ears

Posted by jerry on November 2, 2003 at 3:06 PM (PDT)

8

No way I'm buying that high price earphone. the price does not justify the technology its just a good quality earphone enclosed in a ruberized molded earpiece. I rather buy a home theatre system and put both speaker near my ear.

Posted by Owee on November 2, 2003 at 8:56 PM (PDT)

9

"... single driver reproducing the entire frequency response which results in saturation or distortion in the low frequencies much before the UE5c."

Really? I've owned some high end Grado headphones as well as ER4P/S and ER4 has very accurate, undistorted sound all the way to the lowest bass note. I cannot imagine anybody complaining about bass distortion with ER4 unless you're monitoring on a very loud stage, etc.

Posted by Juan on November 4, 2003 at 11:04 AM (PDT)

10

How can i get UE5C in the UK please ?

Posted by gumbo on November 4, 2003 at 11:10 AM (PDT)

11

With such a high price item there should be a no questions asked life time replacement guarantee. With its frequent use I don't think these will last that long.

I recently bought ER6's and even though they cost 400 less I am still worried about their longetivity. It is ususally the wires that give out.

Posted by Shr1n1 on November 5, 2003 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

12

There is a Shure dealer on eBay that is selling the Shure E5's for $368. Technically the same as the E5c's but without the inline volume control that the E5c's have. In communication with a Shure Tech rep, he stated that the E5's were a bargain at that price and again, technically just as good as the E5c's. I have purchased these and I can tell you, if you are serious about your music, these are as good as it gets!

Regards,

Mike

Posted by Mike on November 6, 2003 at 8:08 AM (PDT)

13

I have a pair of the ER4S. One point that should be made is that the only difference between the S and the P is the chord. The part at the top of the chord that plugs into the headphone is where the difference is. The driver and everything else is identical.

As for what this guy is saying about the ER4's single driver causing saturation and distortion -- pfffffbt. I have never had these things distort. I'd probably end up blowing my eardrums out before they distort. Within all safe listening levels, and even some beyond what is healthy, the ER4s are crisp, fast, and clean as a whistle throughout the entire audible range.

Here's the scoop. If you like more bass with your punch, then you'll probably prefer the Shure sound. If you like your bass to be very accurately rendered, and in its place with the rest of the sound, then the Etymotics are going to be your best bet. There have been hiss complaints with the Shures, probably mostly due to the higher sensitivity. This would probably only be a factor between the ER4S, as both the 4P and ER6 cans are more sensitive, too. I do know that the ER4S does not hiss at all if you have it plugged into strong components. Any hiss is coming from the CD itself.

Comfort is a moot point. Etymotic offers the same service of getting your ear's fitted custom.

Posted by Ioa on November 6, 2003 at 4:07 PM (PDT)

14

I wear earphones 4 hours a day with my iPod. Bending over they fall out of my right ear, so a custom fit would be welcome.

Also have a pair of Etymotic ER4Ps that are too uncomfortable to wear and produce harsher responses than the stock iPod earphones.

Since you pay for quality sound and have already popped for 500 on the 40GB iPod, why not have the best end product.

If Ultimate Ears offered lifetime replacement for damaged units, on a free of charge basis AND the ability to listen to these puppies BEFORE purchasing, they'd have a handsdown winner.

Posted by Pete Saybolt on November 7, 2003 at 7:13 AM (PDT)

15

What is the hardness of the molds? I own musician's earplugs by Westone, are these a similiar hardness? Also, do you offer a soft material in the molds (and in what colors?)

It looks like the cord is replaceable, is this true and how much does it cost?

Posted by Matt on November 8, 2003 at 12:07 PM (PDT)

16

굿이네여~

Posted by ㅋㅋㅋ on November 11, 2003 at 1:38 AM (PDT)

17

Ultimate Ears has ABSOLUTELY NO contact info on their website.

How do you get in touch with them?

Posted by mashamax on November 11, 2003 at 5:50 AM (PDT)

18

You go to their website and get their 800 number.

Posted by pete saybolt on November 11, 2003 at 6:24 AM (PDT)

19

On the main page of their website, bottom right hand corner it says:

.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)

Posted by spoonbender on November 11, 2003 at 7:21 AM (PDT)

20

PART I
Well I just spoke with Mindy Harvey of Ultimate Ears and must say I am excited. As for the guy above complaining about contact info you must not have tried very hard. Click the “Enter” button on the page instead of the link at the bottom. The bottom link seems to go to an old site design. Instead go here http://www.ultimateears.com/new/main.htm The site has a lot of good testimonials from pro sound engineers located under the “Engineers” button > Interviews…

My contact experience with UE was very good and in fact after my second email they offered to call me and answer questions in detail. From a customer service (confidence) standpoint they scored big with me. Send them an email or give them a call and see for yourself. Very friendly folks over there at UE.

I currently own the Etymotic ER4P. I previously had the 4S but upgraded to the P model as all of my usage involved portable devices. I have had my Ety’s for a combined 7 years and love them! All the same the appeal of a double or triple driver earphone is very strong.

Here are the relevant snippets from my emails and phone call to UE.

eMail
“Ultimate Ears isolation would be comparable to a triple flange tip @ -26db as long as the triple flange was sealing perfectly.

The UE-5C does not have quite as much output as the UE-5 Pro. It is also only available in hard material. You do have your choice of clear, white or black. The cable is detachable and replaceable and you have your choice of clear, beige, brown or black cable in either 46" or 64" lengths.

All of our pro models work extremely well with the iPod. Our clients have been using them for this application for quite some time as well as for their live performances.”
CONT...

Posted by Noel on November 11, 2003 at 3:02 PM (PDT)

Page 1 of 2 pages  1 2 >

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.