v-moda Vibe Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

These look HOT!! If they sound as good as they look, I'm getting a pair.

Posted by Tenchi211 in California on October 27, 2006 at 1:53 PM (PDT)

2

agreed smile

although i got my etymotic ER-6i's from amazon for the same price.

if these retail for 80ish on amazon they're mine.

Posted by mrmojorisingi on October 27, 2006 at 9:48 PM (PDT)

3

How robust is the cable - my Bass Freq's cable failed about a fortnight ago, which was a bit of a bind seeing as they were only 3 months old... Sony's 71s also used a metal based attachment on the cable and it was one of the worst features they added because if the cable didn't fail above the plug then it failed were left and right channels seperated.

A Shame - they look great and I would have to say that when they worked my Freq's sounded fantastic, but I'm afraid these already have one feature I know long term just doesn't work and eventually results in cable failure, so if you want to throw money away maybe then its a great idea.

Posted by leqin on October 28, 2006 at 4:15 AM (PDT)

4

[Comment edited out by iLounge administrators for advertising:] [S]end them your broken phones and I will bet they'll replace them immediately (they might do so if you just e mail them a photo of the broken phones). Your point about failure points on the EX series is very well made, though that metal section is where three wires join, whereas the V-Moda Bass Freqs surely have a similar looking cable where one wire divides. On the Sony, the left earbud wire 'goes back' with the main cord.

Posted by Jackonicko in UK on October 28, 2006 at 4:36 AM (PDT)

5

Any chance of another giveaway on the IRC-Channel? smile

Posted by Robust² on October 28, 2006 at 4:58 AM (PDT)

6

[S]end them your broken phones and I will bet they'll replace them immediately (they might do so if you just e mail them a photo of the broken phones). Your point about failure points on the EX series is very well made, though that metal section is where three wires join, whereas the V-Moda Bass Freqs surely have a similar looking cable where one wire divides. On the Sony, the left earbud wire 'goes back' with the main cord.


If it fails once it'll fail again - I'm pretty hot with a soldering iron so its going to be replaced with a cable that isn't going to fail period.

Cable failure is one of the worst problems with earphones and IEM's and only one company address's the issue correctly and that's UE who make the cable user replaceable in the first place.

eBay - search 'metal earphones' and check out the fake Sony MDR-75's

Posted by leqin on October 28, 2006 at 7:22 AM (PDT)

7

Seems like a rebrand of a Chinese (semi high end) earphone called OVC T-25, link: http://www.ovc.com.cn/product_detail.asp?id=322

Just wanted to point it out...

Posted by Err0r on October 29, 2006 at 12:18 PM (PDT)

8

From Val Kolton of v-moda:

V-MODA is fanatical about our quality, customer service, and uniqueness and we wish to disclose a few facts about the design preview of Vibe::

In response to Jeremy's update - the units sent were pre-production audio prototypes and were not intended for final review - only first looks and photographs. The prototypes were handmade and may have been damaged during shipment or previous rigorous use although they were personally tested before shipment. We informed iLounge that we will send packaged final review production units next week when production is complete. Even I do not have a final mass production Vibe – yet!

V-MODA prides itself on the originality of our sound and style and we protect it to the fullest extent. We were made aware that a company attempted to make a similar product and our legal department had it stopped. Vibe is not a rebranded product, and we have not licensed our technology to any other companies at this time.

Additionally, all of our products have a unique signature, as I personally sign off on the final sound curves we sculpt internally, and our engineers diligently manage production QC at all of our factories. Aaron Fournier (our head sound engineer) and I have been perfecting the sound of Vibe up until only a few days ago as proven by our reference curve date/time stamp and numerous prototypes iLounge received as we tailored the sound to our final approval.

Val Kolton and Aaron Fournier

From Jeremy Horwitz:

The unit we received was supposed to be representative of the sound of the final product, but half of its audio didn't work. We will await "true" final samples prior to a final review, and hope that cable issues will not exist in units shipped to customers.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on October 30, 2006 at 7:19 AM (PDT)

9

These are well worth getting. I had purchased the Shure E3Cs, but they were lacking in bass. The Vibes have a good, but not overpowering bass, plus are a little brighter on the high end, allowing for more vibrancy of sound (e.g., those tambourines sound distinct and alive). But the overall sound is rich and enveloping: you really feel like you are there with the music. I haven't had them long enough to comment on durability. They don't have as good sound isolation as the Shures, but are quite comfortable to wear.

Posted by harvo1 on December 26, 2006 at 3:05 AM (PDT)

10

Just got a pair of these in black and chrome.
Excellent build quality and the sound is first class. These are to replce my Sony EX71's which I had worn to death and had fallen apart. Though tthat I would move on to the next level! Imported from US only cost me £48 inc P&P...bargin!!!
The sound on these is so much better. I cant even have my ipod volume up full because I'd go deaf. Even at as loud as I can bear there is no distortion and the bass is really good. I would recommend these headphones to anyone

Posted by curryluvva in UK on December 30, 2006 at 2:12 PM (PDT)

11

I'd love to see your full review for the V-Moda Vibe earphones. I'm looking at these, the JBL Reference 220, and the Sennheiser CX300.

Posted by wloring on January 5, 2007 at 1:06 PM (PDT)

12

I'm finding the sound colored as promised, but acceptable if these were say, $69.99. They are a bit overpriced. The cables are VERY thin and feel flimsy. Of course the metal buds feel solid.

I dunno. I have a mixed reaction. It also took 4 weeks to get the shipped, BTW...

Posted by stark23x on February 12, 2007 at 6:17 PM (PDT)

13

I was lucky enough to have a $50 credit at the Apple Store, so I got mine for half-price, which was a pretty good deal. I don't think I'd pay more than $60-$70.

When I first got them, there was a ton of treble but very little bass. I've noticed in the last couple of weeks, though, that the bass has "opened up" quite a bit more. I listen to a lot of electronic music, and always have my iPod EQ set at "Electronic," which makes ALL headphones sound better IMO, but it does push the treble end more than other EQs.

Before the Vibe, I had the Sony EX-71s, and I right off the bat I noticed much more clarity in the Vibes (although the Sony's silicone tips created a better seal and kept more external noise out).

Other than that, no complaints. (The cords are very sturdy on mine, btw)

Posted by ele©tro on February 12, 2007 at 8:20 PM (PDT)

14

My observations were very similar to ele©tro's. When I first got my pair of Vibes, they seemed very anemic in the bass and the highs were actually kind of piercing. After about a week or so of listening to them I found the sound to be very pleasing. They still don't overwhelm in the bass dept, but they definitely are not lacking. They sound rather controlled to me. I have not had any problems with these headphones. When I ordered them, they shipped out the same day and I recieved them the very next day. The only concern I have with them is with the plug. I wish it were angled because I have a difficult time trying to pull it out of my iPod Nano. Other than that, I can't say anything bad about the build quality or the sound in my opinion.

Posted by Tenchi211 in California on February 12, 2007 at 9:18 PM (PDT)

15

Picked up a pair of the Red Roxx yesterday. Right out of hte box they sound great. I thought the sound was clear and bright. Hi's mid's bass were well balanced. I certainly did not find them bass heavy, though there is plenty of it.
The fit is coomfortable and secure. I have small ear canals and the small set of tips that is pre-installed work nicely. They seat with only a gentle twis into my ears.
There is some microphonics from the wires but not a bother.
The wires appear thin, but I do not think any thinner than the insides of most quality earphone wires. The thin look is exagerated by the clear tubing over the wires. The only place I'd like to be more secure is where the wire exits the mini plug. I am going to use a small piece of heat shrink tubing over this to give more strain relief to the wire.
Comes with plenty of different sized ear tips. The little gold carry bag they come with is useless-no big deal.
I am VERY happy I bought these nad would recomend to anyone. They even make the 2G Shuffle sound better.

Posted by tinpaper on February 27, 2007 at 9:50 AM (PDT)

16

Man talk about being torn. I saw these this morning and they look very enticing. I've been to other review websites and the people who've posted have nothing but good thing to say about them. Then I've read how company employees make artificial posts with good reviews to sort of "salt the mine". I'm an all around listener without any particular genre in mind. I like to have my head swim with the even tone of sound rather than having plain loudness fired into my eardrums. Right now I'm using my Sony MdrEX-90's which aren't bad, but did take a lot of tweaking through itunes. This may be a tough decision. They look pretty sweet though.

Posted by SnippyHippie in North Carolina, USA on March 29, 2007 at 1:25 PM (PDT)

17

I bought a pair of Gunmetal Gray and I'm very happy with them; their sound is awesome.

I just regret the cables: I wish that they were transparent as the Flashblack Chrome model; looks like some -thin- USB cable. The black cable are a bit tonky, I mean they generate or conduct a bit of sound when they move on clothes or when they're hit. But it's not too much and I can easily live with this.

For the bass topic, I understand that more the silicone tips are big, more you got bass. Those tips are acting as if your skull was a bass resonator. So, for my ears format, the smallest tips give a thin sound, the middle tips good bass and the biggest tip are way too boomy. So I choose the middle ones. This said, V-Moda should give a choice of different matter (foam etc.) to their tips, which can diffuse differently the bass frequencies, instead of different color (black and transparent). Also they should give more different gauge of size (4 or 5) instead of 3.

A last thing, When you buy those earphones, you get a VIP card with a serial number. I made the inscription but I was confuse if I had registered my purchase in the same time. Also, since I made this inscription, nothing happened, neither a e-mail, nothing. Does it worth to do so? VIP of what? It give a taste of a not serious gadget thing with a glamour allure!

Anyway, I really appreciate my Vibes earphones and I recommend it. 8/10.

Posted by niclet on April 8, 2007 at 10:06 AM (PDT)

18

I had my Shure E2C's for 2 years and loved them but I have small ears and they hurt after a while. So I was looking for something more comfortable and a little less expensive. I read good things about the Vibes so I got them from Amazon.

Coming from the Shure's, the sound quality on the Vibes was pretty good, different but good. And I had gotten used to the behind the ear style of the Shure's but adapted.

After about 3 months, I noticed that the wire casing at the top of the mini-jack was splitting. I always wrap my earphones around my iPod and throw them in my bag, like most people. Never had a problem with the Shures. But after only 3 1/2 months, the Vibes had to be replaced. I thought maybe this pair was defective somehow. I received the replacement and the same thing happened with the new pair after another 4 moths.

So at the end of the day, the sound quality doesn't matter when your casing breaks and the wires become exposed. I'll take functional over pretty any day.

Posted by BKAllDay on August 4, 2007 at 4:35 PM (PDT)

19

I got these for Christmas last year and they're probably the best-looking earphones I've ever seen. That said, the silicone earpieces ARE irregularly shaped and it took forever for me to find the size that fit right and to figure out how to put them in so they stay positioned. The sound is good - lots of bass (I'm no audiophile) - but I've found these earphones aren't ideal for running or any other activity involving lots of movement (it's also not too good to be out running and have a hard time hearing oncoming traffic, dogs, etc). I'm thinking about getting a pair of Remix M-Classes for running and working out.

Posted by DoesntLikeZunes on September 4, 2007 at 8:51 PM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.