Vaja i-Volution 4G with Wheel Protector | iLounge

Reviews

21

Does anyone have the iVolution with the wheel protector? I'm contemplating whether or not to add the wheel protector.

With the protector, do you have FULL access to the controls and is it still touch sensitive?

Thanks.

Posted by CollinM on March 12, 2005 at 4:27 PM (PDT)

22

Looking to find out if I would have to remove my 20GB 4G from this case in order to use it:
1. with the SendStation PocketDock w/ Line out (or equivalent)
2. with the connectors from either the new Alpine or Pioneer car interface units
3. with the Apple desktop dock.

Any know for sure on any of these?

Posted by MrRhino on March 17, 2005 at 7:16 AM (PDT)

23

Is the $59 price still available on the vaja website? I can't find the "Black i-volution shipping immediatly" box anywhere!!

I was going to get the black case anyways, so it would be nice if I could save a few bucks and have it ship right away. Thanks.

Posted by Mutombo on March 17, 2005 at 1:38 PM (PDT)

24

In response to my own question...I spoke with someone at Vaja and they are no longer offering the $59 "in stock" model. So if you want one of these cases, you're gonna have to wait (and pay) for it.

Posted by Mutombo on March 18, 2005 at 6:33 AM (PDT)

25

Oh my, i just visited the website and I am GOING to get one of these... they're gorgeous!!! And they fit the ipod to a "T" I'm so amazed at the sleekness!!! The craftsmanship alone sold me!!! Just gotta save my beans, but looks like it is well worth the money!!! My only problem now, is deciding what kind and color to get...

Posted by Luv_Mah_ipod in NYC on March 18, 2005 at 6:48 PM (PDT)

26

Im considering buying this case, but i just wondered how good the protection is. Cause ive already experienced cracking the screen on my old ipod when i accidentially dropped it to the ground, will this case provide protection against that or do i have to go with the others less functional, but more protective cases?
NB

Posted by Norwegian Blue on March 23, 2005 at 1:27 PM (PDT)

27

it looks like they are currently out of stock of the $59 cases. the cheapest option available is the custom built option for $70 :/ bs.

Posted by mediocrityohmy on March 23, 2005 at 11:16 PM (PDT)

28

i think im just gonna buy the ipodkitz case. its much cheaper and comes with other accessories.

Posted by mediocrityohmy on March 23, 2005 at 11:19 PM (PDT)

29

I just ordered the iVod DJ for my U2 special Edition Ipod. Its combination #7, the case looks sweet, I have heard very good reviews about Vaja case, and I am not getting any personalization, just with click wheel cover and with ultra clip.

I just ordered it, have to wait 30days, can't wait.

Nishi

Posted by Vaja on April 8, 2005 at 9:16 AM (PDT)

30

I just got my iPod Vaja case yesterday in the mail, it is one of the best looking cases in the market.
It looks good and the color scheme goes well with my U2 Special Edition iPod.
Very much is sturdy and the screen protector is a must when buying a case, also the wheel cap, looks very cool.

Definitely a must have for iPod owners.

Nishi

Posted by Vaja on May 5, 2005 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

31

I was wondering if anyone could tell me if this case is hard to get on and off and if it scratches the iPod in the process or if it is really easy to slip on and off, this is a big factor for me. Thanks!

Posted by Rubia on May 9, 2005 at 6:10 PM (PDT)

32

Is this case difficult to get on and off?

Posted by Rubia on May 10, 2005 at 4:03 PM (PDT)

33

I just got my Vaja case in the mail the other day. I just want to make a few comments, regarding the whole transaction, and product. The case took 6-7 weeks to arrive. Their website states that there is a 25 day manufacturing time. Not in my case. It took nearly DOUBLE that amount of time to receive the product. Considering this day in age, you would expect (at least I would) an email notification that the product may take longer to receive. I actually had to call them 3 times. The first 2 calls that couldn’t give an anticipated ship date. The 3rd phone call they were able to confirm a ship date.

The Product: Overall, the product is well constructed. Nice screen/wheel protection. The leather is high quality, and it dresses-up the ipod.

Verdict: Would I do it all over again? NO, the customer service was sub-par, the wait time was ridiculous, and there are many very nice alternative cases available for half the price.

That’s just my opinion…

HB

Posted by HBen on May 22, 2005 at 8:19 AM (PDT)

34

I recently received my Vaja case, a two-tone with click-wheel cover, no belt clip and embossed with my name. From the time the order was received until it was shipped took just over 2 weeks, and then international shipping took some time, so the 30 days from order appears to be a decent estimate.

The product arrived exactly as specified and it's quite smart-looking. It is certainly the sharpest iPod case I've seen. Click-wheel touch sensitivity is reduced ever so slightly, but not to the point that it reduces functionality. It fits my 60Gb Photo like a glove and, thus far, hasn't caused any scratching. Friends who have seen it are in envy and, likely, will be ordering their own. My only concern is that the case completely covers the heat sink on the back, so there appears to be no way to dissipate heat.

p.s. There is an easy way to remove it from the case--push your finger into the opening at the base of the case while holding the case near the middle and the iPod slides fairly easily outward.

Posted by junior LA on May 31, 2005 at 6:18 PM (PDT)

35

I've had my Vaja case for several months now. It's a blue/grey two-tone without the belt clip for my 40GB 4G iPod. The case is absolutely beautiful, and the leather pouch that shipped with it provides additional protection during transport and serves as a convenient case for small accessories (earbuds, iTrip, etc.).

After a couple months of use, the clear plastic screen protector became badly scratched. I asked Vaja if they'd ship me a replacement screen but they wouldn't. I ended up carefully removing the screen protector, which is glued between the case and interior lining. This leaves my screen more vulnerable, but I prefer this over the scratched protector, especially since I can remove minor scratches from my iPod screen.

I rarely remove my iPod from the case (except when I dock it on my stereo), but have discovered that removing it leaves slight vertical scratches on the iPod. You can avoid this to some degree by pinching the top corners of the case while sliding the iPod out the top.

I'd also recommend scotch-guarding the leather of the case before using it.

It's a great case, but like others, it's far from perfect.

Posted by Brian W on June 4, 2005 at 11:50 AM (PDT)

36

scotch guard it?! NO NEVER!!

if you plan to invest the money in a case like this, scotch guard is the last thing you want to do. A bit of research on leather will clearly show why. Might i suggest.
the Bickmore products
http://www.bickmore.com/bickmore/leather_care/

"Leather is expensive, therefore it is understandable that people want to protect their investment. With proper care, leather goods should endure for many years. Without it, even the finest leather can be forever ruined."

Posted by batty13 on June 4, 2005 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

37

The photo in the review shows a smooth back to the case - yet the website shows it with a clip. Yes, I see the clip is optional, but my question is - if you don't order the clip will the back be smooth like the product in the review, or with the hump where clip can go?

Posted by no surrender on August 21, 2005 at 10:28 AM (PDT)

38

Get it together ilounge. This case is no longer available, period.

Posted by iSkratch on November 17, 2005 at 3:41 PM (PDT)

39

iSkratch: These cases are most definitely still available. I just got one for my U2 Color ipod last week. Go to vajacases.com, then "MP3 Products," then "Apple." Under "Choose your model" you'll see a short list of ipod models. Look for the "Older versions" selection at the bottom of the list. Put your cursor on it and a longer list of prior models will pop up, all the way back to the 2G 5 gig.

no surrender: To answer your question, if you don't order the clip, the back will be smooth like the one in the photo--my personal preference.

The i-volution is an outstanding case and worth every bit of its A rating. I've already got one for my Nano and I've pre-ordered one for my 5G as well. The wheel protector takes a bit of getting used to, but overall it's a good thing. It comes down to personal preference, and I can certainly understand why some folks wouldn't want one.

Posted by Downing on December 2, 2005 at 9:38 PM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.