XtremeMac Audio Splitter | iLounge

Reviews

1

Actually, Jeremy, Audible's current promotion does not require any payment. I've done it, as has a family member or two. Sign up, enjoy a month of Premium Membership and all that it entails, then cancel if you wish.

It sounds as though XtremeMac's card is an identical offer.

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on December 31, 2004 at 7:34 AM (PDT)

2

Jerrod - from the terms of the current promotion:

"In order to receive your two free audiobooks, you will be enrolled in our PremiumListener membership plan. Your credit card will be billed immediately for your first month of membership and you will receive your two bonus audiobook credits.

To ensure uninterrupted service at the end of each month, your credit card will automatically be charged for your next month of membership. There is no commitment and you can cancel your membership at any time. The two bonus audiobook credits are yours to keep, as are any audiobooks and programs you purchased or used credits for during your membership."

This is different from the terms of the XtremeMac promotion, which gives you the two programs as part of a month's free membership up front, then has you opt-out to avoid charges. So at least as the terms above explain it, under the non-XtremeMac promotion, you need to pay a $21.95 first month's membership and get a total of four programs rather than two. This may have changed since you and your family members signed up.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 31, 2004 at 11:48 AM (PDT)

3

I think I see where we differ:

I believe you're talking about the offer on the Audible.com homepage.

I'm talking about the offer initiated by clicking the Audible advertisement found in our iPodlounge Forums. Try it--- you'll find it's identical to XtremeMacs in that you don't pay for your first month at all...

iPodlounge Forum Advertisement Link here.

(they do ask for a credit card number, but only to ensure that you haven't done the offer yet, and to have it on file should you fail to cancel)

I now understand the miscommunication... and see that your interpretation is probably more appropriate for the review, seeing how the Audible homepage offer is more "public." I just wasn't even aware there was a difference.

Happy New Year, and nice review. :-D

Posted by Jerrod H. in TX on December 31, 2004 at 3:09 PM (PDT)

4

Jerrod - entirely fair point. I hadn't clicked on the forum advertisement, and rather had gone through Audible's main page without using an ad. But to the extent that the same deal is available without a purchase, the value of the "premium" is diminished. As noted in the original review text, the grade depended on the value of that premium, and as such the review has been tweaked (and grade modestly lowered) to reflect that fact. Thanks for pointing it out.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on December 31, 2004 at 4:40 PM (PDT)

5

I still fail to see why a $2 radioshack splitter won't do just as well.

Posted by Asher in Oakland, CA on January 2, 2005 at 9:30 AM (PDT)

6

The cheapest I've seen at Radio Shack is $4, with prices between $4 and $10 common elsewhere.

And that's sort of like asking why bother with an iPod when you can get a cheapie PC that plays iTunes music for $199. Answer: style, appearance and greater portability count for something.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 2, 2005 at 9:41 AM (PDT)

7

http://www.radioshack.com/product.asp?catalog_name=CTLG&category;_name=CTLG_007_002_001_002&product;_id=274-313

Buy it in store. $5 out the door.

Or, buy the Audio Splitter. 12.99 plus ~$4 for shipping. 17 total, more or less.

12 dollars difference.

I personally beleive that there is a big differnce in a computer and an ipod. A bigger difference than between two functionally identical headphone splitters. A computer and an iPod have different functions and abilities. The two audio splitters have on difference: appearance. Hell, for 12 bucks I'll spray paint one white and mail it off.

Different strokes for different folks.

Posted by Asher in Oakland, CA on January 2, 2005 at 11:24 AM (PDT)

8

As pointed out in the review, the Audio Splitter has at least three advantages over the Radio Shack part you're pointing out - it locks in place on the iPod's top (and won't spin around), it doesn't have the metal edged ports of the Radio Shack part (which may reduce or eliminate some of the audio issues 4G iPod owners have experienced), and it matches the iPod on style. Some people will value these differences, others won't. We just point them out.

Obviously there is a price difference between the parts (though I've now seen this issue raised in multiple threads, once claiming the Radio Shack part was 99 cents, then $2, now $5 (but again not including sales tax (under $1), if that matters)), but the MacAlly, XtremeMac, and Monster items are made to match the iPod's body and the Radio Shack one just isn't. Yes, you can go out and buy a can of spray paint ($3 all inclusive?), spray up the Radio Shack part, and maybe even polish its surfaces so that it's smooth to the touch. Supply procurement and token labor costs aside, it's still not going to look as iPod-appropriate as XtremeMac's $10 competitors, and it won't have the aforementioned features unique to the XtremeMac part.

Yes indeed, different strokes for different folks.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 2, 2005 at 12:00 PM (PDT)

9

Until someone produces a headphone splitter with a powered pre-amp (running off of a AAA or such battery) that has individual volume controls, there's no need for anything other than a $3 headphone splitter if you're speaking for function inbetween these models and the generic.

Posted by Aidan R. in Vancouver, BC on January 2, 2005 at 11:02 PM (PDT)

10

wow... this little ditty has stirred up some dust huh Jeremy? I thought this was just a review of another mini-jack splitter. So what's the fuss all about? If you like it, buy it, if not... Don't! ipodlounge is only here to report about it, not to force you to buy it.

oh BTW, I found a splitter at Wal-Mart for $0.87 + tax.

(just kidding)

Posted by apple juice in USA on January 5, 2005 at 6:21 AM (PDT)

11

No dust really. Though I agree with your point (we're reporting, not forcing purchases) entirely, once in a while (when I have the time) I like to respond to some of the points raised by readers, just to put the facts out there and keep future readers of the review well-informed. Obviously it's hard to do this more than once in a while given the huge number of articles and reviews we have on the site, but I make the effort when possible.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on January 5, 2005 at 11:37 AM (PDT)

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.