XtremeMac MicroMemo High-Fidelity Digital Audio Recorder for iPod | iLounge

Reviews

21

Upgrading to iTunes 7 did the trick. My MicroMemo can now play sounds from videos. Hurray!

Thanks, Woodwynlane!

Posted by John Cartan on September 30, 2006 at 11:28 PM (PDT)

22

I just received mine. Audio levels are VERY low and noise levels unacceptably high, both with the mic supplied with the unit and with a separate $400, - Sony mic.

Xtrememac were very responsive, but the fact they claimed they couldn't hear any noise (it's there, and it's pretty loud) has me a bit worried.

They suggested I'd swap the unit for a replacement, and asked me to let them know how that worked out for me. Good people (as far as I can tell) but an unusable unit. Let's hope the replacement will work as advertised...

I'll post here again to let you guys know how things work out.

Posted by aapl87 on October 11, 2006 at 11:09 AM (PDT)

23

Just got the replacement. Same noise problem.

I really wanted to like this product, but the noise level makes this impossible. It's NOT the sound quality you hear on the iLounge site. Is it a difference between the preproduction units and the mass produced item? Or was the iLounge sound specimen heavily filtered?

http://iloungeserver.com/XtremeMac_MicroMemo_audio_tests.mp3

Here's mine:

http://212.203.9.16/20061013_121123.wav

My 2 cents: stay well clear of this product, unless you're looking for a Lo-Fi dictaphone / voice recorder.

Posted by aapl87 on October 13, 2006 at 3:17 AM (PDT)

24

I have a fairly simple question which may have been answered in the above review, but obviously went over my head. I would like to know the easiest way to transfer about 100 cassete tapes (not music just speaking) to my computer so I could listen to them on my ipod.
Any ideas would be very much appreciated!!!

Thanks
Denise

Posted by providerslink on October 18, 2006 at 5:11 PM (PDT)

25

To transfer cassettes to your iPod you could use any recording interface that has a Line level input. Connect the line level output of your audio system's cassette deck to that input with a dual RCA plug to stereo miniplug cable, select "record" on your iPod and select play on your player. It's that simple.

Posted by LenMinNJ on November 4, 2006 at 5:54 PM (PDT)

26

I am most interested in this recorder for its use in compiling a family oral history project. I have good sense of what the audio quality will be, however, I'd like to know how user-friendly the recorder/ipod becomes when transferring data to itunes. In short, is this a good product for this purpose and for someone who has not experimented much with data formatting and the like?

Posted by peterg78 on December 24, 2006 at 9:35 AM (PDT)

27

hey, im just wondering which ipod audio recorder to buy.
which one is better? the griffin , the belkin or the xtreme mac?
i would like to use it to record my class lesson...!!
thanks

Posted by ferpepe on January 23, 2007 at 3:52 PM (PDT)

28

Ok here is my review on this product :

good
1) it looks cool ....
2) user friendly design...

bad :

1) the recording could be more noiseless...
it sounds like you're transferring a cassette tape recording into a digital format..
no need to record a hiss noise in 44.1 KHz..
it's pretty loud actually..
2) if you're willing to use a stereo mic .. you need a powered one... otherwise forget it..
3) the recording level is really low...
4) sometimes a click occurs in the original recording so you need to edit them out for a proper normalize (editing in wavelab for ex)
5) For this quality of recording it is expensive... $40 tops could be fair...


well we're in 2007 and the electronic technology is good enough to produce fine recording products.. this doesn't fit the age
..the noize ratio is not fair at all....

Cenk (Xcarnation)

Posted by Xcarnation on February 10, 2007 at 10:15 PM (PDT)

29

Hi All,

I got my MicroMemo last week with the hopes of recording some old cassette tapes directly onto my 30GB video iPod and to also record some lectures and talks. I like it overall, but the one big issue I am running into when recording long memos/lecures or songs (more than 5 minutes) is skips and gaps in the recording. Meaning, one second the speaker is talking about one thing and the next he is in the middle of a different topic. I'm not sure of the exact amount of missing time, but I'd guess it is more than 10 seconds. I'm not sure of the cause or reason for the skip in recording, but I'm guessing that it has to do with writing the temporary recording to the iPod hard drive. Has anyone else experienced this and hopefully is there a work around. I have the quality set to low...

Thanks.

Posted by tmoorer on February 19, 2007 at 10:52 AM (PDT)

30

I am interested in using this to record lectures in class, when converted into mp3 or Acc format how much space would a Half hour to an hour take up?

Posted by darthpalasco on March 24, 2007 at 5:06 PM (PDT)

31

Jeremy, fantastic review. Thank you.
I for one am happy that they didn't appear to include any crappy gain control by default.

I simply wouldn't want a unit that decided my ability to set recording levels was not good enough!

Whatsmore, I like the idea of using it as a professional recording tool, in which case to have to rely on a sub-standard compression algorithm such as AGC - it would be useless to me; what if I want to take a line out from a mixing desk and control the levels properly myself. Or record a classical concert where dynamic range is important?

I am slightly worried by aapl87's comment above, but I think I will give this a go as it's relatively cheap for what it is, in my view.

Thanks again for the review.

Posted by hazymat on April 3, 2007 at 7:14 AM (PDT)

32

I purchased the MicroMemo primarily on account of the seemingly great sound quality of the test file submitted in the MicroMemo review……

I should have read these comments here before, though, particularly the ones by aapl87 and Xcarnation…

The sound quality of the MicroMemo turned out to be absolutely appalling: extremely noisy, very low audio level and a lasting high-pitched whistling sound that keeps you even more focused on the flaws of the recording.

After various attempts of improving the quality by adjusting the mic etc. I just quit and returned the device. Charging 60.-€ (= $82) for a gadget that in fact can be outperformed by a tape recorder definitely is a bit too much. (The white MicroMemo sells even for €70/$95 here in Old Europe!)

The extent to which the actual recording quality deviates from what can be heard on the test file actually made me think that the "test file" may have been subjected to some kind of unaccounted filtering and refining.

Since aapl87 had similar grievances, we should ask the reviewer to explain how it is or could be that we (or at least some) of the users were unable to reproduce a sound quality anywhere near to what can be heard on the test file.

Posted by Toyo on April 22, 2007 at 4:09 AM (PDT)

33

It's possible that more recent MicroMemo units have been changed from the version we tested. Our sample files were not filtered or edited in any way; they sound the same as the original WAV files recorded.

Posted by Jeremy Horwitz in East Amherst, NY, USA on April 22, 2007 at 6:55 AM (PDT)

34

Has anyone had any success whatsoever recording with a stereo condenser mic in stereo format?

I am in video production (weddings mostly) and am looking for something that can provide the quality and portability for my iPod, my fear after reading these comments is that it does not exist.

Posted by peakDefinition on June 22, 2007 at 9:05 AM (PDT)

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.