Yahba Opus Earphones | iLounge

Reviews

1

I can't decide weather to get these or Griffin's EarJams. There both the around the same price. Any suggestions?

Posted by sdcacevedo on January 19, 2005 at 10:06 AM (PDT)

2

Actually, since I already had the Sony earphones that are mentioned in the article because of my old minidisc player, I just took the silicone earpieces and placed them over the standard apple earphones that were bundled with my iPod. Better now I have an improved bass sound, greater confort, they won't fall from my ears and perfectly isolate any outside noise. Best solution for me (not to mention i didn't spend a dime on it)

Posted by darkstriker on January 19, 2005 at 10:12 AM (PDT)

3

Could someone who has both these and the EX71's please tell me just how much less comfortable these are than the Sony's? I would consider buying these since they sound so much better, but comfort is important to me.

Could you switch the rubber tips maybe?

Posted by Mani on January 19, 2005 at 12:10 PM (PDT)

4

Funny, for me the Apple phones have plenty of bass - it is the treble that sounds weak and cutoff. Likewise, I found the Sony MDR-EX71s to be painfully uncomfortable (with all sizes of earpiece) and with treble like a dentist's drill. I sold my set to a friend for $20. He loves them.

For earbuds I will continue to use my ancient Sony MDR-821s until they disintegrate. They are actually not offensive.

Since the Yahbas are so cheap, I might give them a try. Who knows?

For less mobile situations, the Grado SR-60 is unbeatable - puts all earbuds or in-ears to shame (possible exception for the high-end Eytomonics). For $70 you just can't get more great sound, and they work great on the iPod without an additional amp. After using these, earbuds are mighty hard to listen to.

I suppose we all have different ears!

Posted by BradPDX in Portland, OR USA on January 19, 2005 at 12:33 PM (PDT)

5

These earphones sound interesting.

I wish iPod Lounge would review The Plug from Koss.

After my factory earbuds died (the left side completely blew out within a couple of weeks, and I don't consider myself a "super loud" listener), I ordered Koss's The Plug earbuds, which use foam inserts to seal off outside noise and channel the sound.

I like the noise cancelling and love the bass response, but the high end sounds muffled to me, even though a lot of people's online reviews (not here but other sites) rave about the sound. I finally set my G4 20 GB's EQ setting to "Treble Booster" and it's better, but I feel like I'm missing something.

The price is certainly good -- got mine for $14 online, and also bought a Radio Shack version (made by Koss), which includes a handy mute button on the cord, for $21.

I'm thinking about seeking out the Sony ones (EX81s?) that retails for about $50 -- the new moedl reviewed by IPL is supposed to have much better trabel than the EX71s.

But I'd like to see a serious review of The Plug.

Posted by gillers in Denver, Colorado, USA on January 19, 2005 at 1:33 PM (PDT)

6

how do these compare to Sony's MDR EX81's?

Posted by Frank Owen in Tampa, FL on January 19, 2005 at 1:53 PM (PDT)

7

Are the Opus phones "one-size-fits-all" or do they have different size inserts? The review and Yahba's website don't specify. I've tried the Plug phones but had trouble getting any of the foam tips to fit my ears properly.

Posted by WHoward on January 19, 2005 at 3:12 PM (PDT)

8

can't decide between these and MDR EX81's. I think these would be more portable for the Shuffle, but the 81's may be more comfy or sound better??? Anyone?

Posted by discerang on January 19, 2005 at 3:55 PM (PDT)

9

has any on had problems with the rubber parts of the cords on there stock ear phones just falling off. this is happening to me. and it ticks me off. what ear phones should i get? these ones sound good (no pun intended) , but exactly how uncomfy are they?

Posted by ipizzod on January 19, 2005 at 5:09 PM (PDT)

10

I purchased these today so I'll try and remember to let you guys know what I think of them. Unfortunately, the stock ipod headphones don't stay in my left ear as its differently shaped than my right.

Posted by brenter on January 19, 2005 at 5:53 PM (PDT)

11

i love ipodlounge reviews, but ipodlounge did nothing but rave about the sony fontopia earphones and now they're getting trashed in this article?

Posted by wezman2k on January 19, 2005 at 8:33 PM (PDT)

12

I have the Sony EX51s they are a little heavy on the bass but that's ok with me. I had a problem with no sound from one side but thanks to this forum it was fixed.
But before the problem was solved I purchased the Griffin's EarJams and the sound was good to me with them but uncomfortable. I replaced the Apple buds because they always fell out of my ear.

Posted by JayDub in NewYork on January 19, 2005 at 8:48 PM (PDT)

13

anyone know where these can be purchased? the review mentions being able to find them online for $15, but i can't find them anywhere but yahba's site, and that's $30.

Posted by skippyrulz on January 20, 2005 at 12:19 AM (PDT)

14

skippyrulz writes:
anyone know where these can be purchased? the review mentions being able to find them online for $15, but i can't find them anywhere but yahba's site, and that's $30.

I bet that $15 price was with the special promotional coupon that Yahba.com had back at the end of December, as mentioned here:
http://dealnews.com/articles/77094.html

Unfortunately, it's expired now :-(

Posted by AndyH in Berwyn, PA on January 20, 2005 at 5:22 AM (PDT)

15

Interesting review, though rendered somewhat invalid by early comments on the stock buds, which are dominated by a massive midrange peak that make them very good for vocal intelligibility but otherwise unlistenable. (I kept mine only to listen to NPR at work, because they do very well with spoken word at low volumes.) From the review, it appears these earbuds trade the Apple buds' midrange-dominant presentation for more of a boom-tizz presentation.

There seems to be a dearth of less pricey headphones reviewed here, most notably the obvious and long-time reference standard for serious listening on the cheap, Koss's line of earclips (KSC-35/KSC-55/KSC-75). While they may not aesthetically match the iPod (I'd be happy to pay $50 for a glossy white re-issue of the KSC-35, and doubt I'm alone) one has to step up to Ety ER-4's or Sennheiser 580/600/650's to get meaningfully better sound.

Posted by 4thG40 in USA on January 20, 2005 at 5:59 AM (PDT)

16

i've got the sony earphones and find the sound pretty good, bass is a bit bloated but otherwise pretty good. only thing i do find is that sometimes the isolation is amazing and other times utterly useless. been thinking of getting the etymotic er6i's but havent made up my mind yet.

Posted by Ritchie_S in UK on January 20, 2005 at 12:15 PM (PDT)

17

Ive had these for about 4 months and absolutely love it. Its cheap, provides clean bass and sound plus the creator/ceo of the earphones is a class act. He personally went above and beyond making me a satisfied customer!!

Posted by marley2778 in Palos Verdes, CA on January 20, 2005 at 12:22 PM (PDT)

18

Any comments on the alleged discomfort of these headphones?

Posted by Mani on January 20, 2005 at 2:35 PM (PDT)

19

To be perfectly honest Ive never felt any discomfort with these 'phones actually the opposite. There really comfortable but ofcourse it may vary from person to person. Im actually waiting for the newer version which will have diff sized plugs.

Posted by marley2778 in Palos Verdes, CA on January 20, 2005 at 2:49 PM (PDT)

20

I don't consider myself an expert by any means but I purchased the Sharp HP-MD33S from Audiocubes and they sound and fit great. Go to their site and read the reviews from users. Everybody who bought them loves them. $39 plus $10 shipping. From the reviews it sounds like you would have to spend well over $100 to get anything better. That said, I purchased the Opus phones for my daughter since matching the white of the I-pod was more important to her and the review here sounded positive for the price.

Posted by geraldatwork on January 21, 2005 at 9:43 AM (PDT)

Page 1 of 4 pages  1 2 3 >  Last »

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Shop for Accessories: Cases, speakers, chargers, etc.