Remove your old backups after upgrading your iPhone | iLounge Tips

Remove your old backups after upgrading your iPhone

Author's pic

By Jesse Hollington

Social Media & Software Editor, iLounge
Published: Thursday, September 26, 2013
Tips Categories: iPad, iPhone, iPod,

If you’ve just upgraded from an older iPhone to a new iPhone 5c or iPhone 5s, chances are that you transferred your data over from your old device using a backup made by iCloud or iTunes. While this is a really easy way to get your new device up and running quickly, it’s important to remember that both iTunes and iCloud store your backup based on your specific hardware device, not simply your device’s name. This means that your old backup is left lying around taking up space after you switch to a new device, while your new device creates an entirely new backup.

Once you’re sure that you’ve restored everything properly to your new device, it’s really quite easy to get rid of these old backups. For iCloud backups, go into Settings, iCloud, Storage & Backup and tap the Manage Storage option on your new device. This will show a list of all of the backups shown in your iCloud account, with the one for the current device indicated. Tap on the other backup with the same name, and choose “Delete Backup” from the subsequent screen that appears.

For iTunes, go into your Preferences and select the Devices section. This will show a list of all iOS device backups stored by iTunes. While the current device isn’t indicated here, you can probably figure it out based on the date and time shown by each backup. If you want to make absolutely sure, hovering over a backup will show additional information about the device from whence the backup came.

Simply highlight the backup you want to get rid of, click the Delete Backup button, and then click OK. Note that any backups you delete from here are not actually removed until after you click OK, so if you make a mistake, simply click Cancel instead and then return to your preferences and try again.

« Shuffling music by Genre in iOS 7

Transferring your passwords to your new iPhone »

Recent Tips

Comments

1

Inquiry - Usage area - shows comments saved.  is there anyway to remove this data from the phone? Apple store techs tell me it is corrupt data on the phone (my phone is corrupt as he said). I have 1.5gb of data simply sitting on my phone. My wife has 1gb and I have another friend with 9bg on her phone. others range from 74mb to 799mb of comments stored.

Is it true the only way to clear this data is to reset the phone?  This seems to be a huge software/phone issue that has plagued IOS. I have been trying to find things on the web, but everyone just seems stuck with it there.  What to do??? Any help is appreciated.

Posted by tim blackwell on September 28, 2013 at 12:07 AM (CDT)

If you have a comment, news tip, advertising inquiry, or coverage request, a question about iPods/iPhones/iPad or accessories, or if you sell or market iPod/iPhone/iPad products or services, read iLounge's Comments + Questions policies before posting, and fully identify yourself if you do. We will delete comments containing advertising, astroturfing, trolling, personal attacks, offensive language, or other objectionable content, then ban and/or publicly identify violators.

Commenting is not available in this channel entry.
Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

Recent News

Recent Reviews

Recent Articles

Sign up for the iLounge Weekly Newsletter

Email:

iLounge is an independent resource for all things iPod, iPhone, iPad, and beyond.
iPod, iPhone, iPad, iTunes, Apple TV, Mac, and the Apple logo are trademarks of Apple Inc.
iLounge is © 2001 - 2014 iLounge, Inc. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use | Privacy Policy