Deauthorizing all 5 computers on an iTunes account

Q: How do I deauthorize a computer? My wife tried to open a song that I sent to her and she was told that she wasn’t authorized to open it. I think that this is because I already have 5 users “authorized,��? since giving her my password didn’t help. Can I reset all 5 computers I have authorized in order for her to gain access?

– Ted

A: Indeed you can, and in one of two ways. The first and most preferable of these only applies if you have access to the computers you have already authorized – simply open iTunes on one of those computers, go to the “Advanced” menu, and select “Deauthorize Computer…”. This will open up a single slot for your wife’s PC.

If you don’t have access to any of the 5 computers anymore, or you want to deauthorize en masse, Apple has given you the ability to completely deauthorize all computers associated with your iTunes account without you having to do them individually. To do so, go to the Music Store from any iTunes copy you have installed, and log into your iTunes Music Store account. Next, click on your account name in the top right corner of the iTunes Music Store window to go to your “Account Information” page. Simply select “Deauthorize all” to the right of the “Computer Authorizations” section. This may seem more convenient in many cases, but be careful – Apple only allows you to do such a large reset once a year.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Share on whatsapp