Erasing a used iPod and starting fresh

Updated
Advertisements

Q: I just bought a used iPod and I am trying to find out how to erase all the music and everything else from it so I can start fresh.

Erasing a used iPod and starting fresh

– Anonymous

A: You can return any iPod to its original factory settings by connecting it to your computer, running iTunes, and choosing the “Restore” option found on the iPod’s “Summary” page.

This will basically reformat the iPod, removing all of the content from it, and reinstall the iPod firmware. Your device will effectively be returned back to its original out-of-the-box factory configuration, and iTunes will then run the normal iPod Setup Assistant as if you were connecting a brand new iPod.

 

Advertisements
Photo of author

Jesse Hollington

Jesse Hollington was a Senior Editor at iLounge. He's written about Apple technology for nearly a decade and had been covering the industry since the early days of iLounge. In his role at iLounge, he provided daily news coverage, wrote and edited features and reviews, and was responsible for the overall quality of the site's content.
Advertisements