Q: Each time I start iTunes, the program seems to try to access the iTunes Store for some reason. Is there any way to disable this? I frequently start up iTunes when I’m not connected to a network, and this results in an error message when I load iTunes.
A: If you have enabled the “Automatically download pre-purchased content” setting in iTunes preferences, the program connects to the iTunes Store to check for new purchases associated with your account each time it launches. You can prevent this from happening by disabling this setting in iTunes’ “Store” preferences, or by logging out of your iTunes account when viewing the iTunes Store.